Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-03-2011, 05:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
I think they are bubbles from my newly added co2 but I throught they were supposed to dissolve not sit and float? I am afrade it will block the light fsrom getting to my plants. Please help


And as a second question... I have nitrates in my tank (120ppm) and they will not budge! I have been doing lots of PWC! but is has not helped! Is there anything else I could do?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20110503_151812.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	36489  
__________________

__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sharklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 395
That happened to me and your filter should take care of it and as for nitrates feed a little less and do a small like 5 or 6% water change and clean the gravel/sand and after a few days it will slowly drop and if you do that ur fish should be fine along with your plants!!!
__________________

__________________
Sharklover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Have you tested your tap water for nitrAtes? Either they're present there, or the test kit is not accurate if it's not going down after pwc's. Are you using an API Master test kit? Make sure you're shaking the #2 bottle for a full 30 seconds and shake the entire tube for a solid minute. It happens every day on this site that people don't shake long enough and get bad results. If you're using strips, they're notoriously inaccurate and I wouldn't trust the readings.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
I assume the tank is fully cycled? Do you know your full parameters? (ammo, nitrIte)
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
I have already cut back on feeding to everyother day. And every 4 days I do a 5 gallon water change. I have been doing this for 2 weeks. Shouldn't this be helping?
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
I use RO water that I get from the fish store, my nitrites are 0, my ammonia is 0
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfanatic
I use RO water that I get from the fish store, my nitrites are 0, my ammonia is 0
How about the test kit?
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by eco23
Have you tested your tap water for nitrAtes? Either they're present there, or the test kit is not accurate if it's not going down after pwc's. Are you using an API Master test kit? Make sure you're shaking the #2 bottle for a full 30 seconds and shake the entire tube for a solid minute. It happens every day on this site that people don't shake long enough and get bad results. If you're using strips, they're notoriously inaccurate and I wouldn't trust the readings.
I use a timer and everything when I shake it. I follow the instructions like they are the Bible. Lol
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfanatic

I use a timer and everything when I shake it. I follow the instructions like they are the Bible. Lol
I've heard stories here about water from a lfs being crazy high in no3. If you test the bottle you buy and they're that high from there...it's time to find a new lfs. It simply doesn't make sense for the no3 to not drop with a good sized pwc.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,030
I have never tested the ro water... that could be a problem! I will be so ticked if I have been paying 25 cents a gallon to put nitrates in my water!
__________________

__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it normal Angelfish56 Cichlid Discussion 1 03-29-2011 04:06 AM
Is this Normal. rich311k Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 03-07-2006 10:39 AM
Is this normal? u2_Crazy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-08-2005 09:41 PM
Is this normal? clowninround Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-05-2004 12:55 PM
Normal? rickschabener Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 04-06-2004 09:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.