Lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

orangepunkins

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am really confused about my lighting for my 55 gal. right now I have barley enough lighting for low light plants (1 single florescent on each side of the tank. I have been talking with a very information person about my lighting. He suggest getting t5 or t5ho. I am VERY new to this lighting and i need basic instructions/suggestions. Well when I went to lowes they had the t5 lightbulbs but not housing. What is the difference between t5 and t8 and t12 other that the ends of the bulbs. Do they still do the same thing? My husband is looking into getting me a shop florescent housing that would be able to have 4 bulbs. Is this to much light now? I do not have co2 (that is in the future). I am a newbie at this lighting thing and I get VERY confused with watts and spectrums. Any help will be greatly appreciated.:thanks:

T5 bulbs have a different ballast so they will not work in standard fixtures. However a four tube shop light would work just fine. I'd consider getting clear glass versatops to cover the tank though and then just mount the lights over the versatop.

Some differences between t5, t-8, and t12:
Efficiency: t5 more efficient, t12 less efficient
Availability: t12 have been phased out or in the process of being phased out
Size: t5 5/8", t-8 1", t12 1.5"
You cannot put one type of bulb into another type of fixture
T5s come in NO (normal output) and HO (high output)
There are T2 bulbs available as well

A 4 bulb setup might be a bit much especially since CO2 in not in the picture yet. If that is the case then you could possibly run only 2 bulbs in that setup or get a 2 bulb shop light fixture.
+1 on the glass top because the shop lights do not offer much in terms of moisture protection.