Lighting and Neon Tetras

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

platylover

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi all,
I am relatively new to the aquarium hobbie and had a quick question.

My question is: Does lighting affect neon tetras?

I have a 20g tank that has been up since the beginning of June and have had 3 neon tetras in it since then with a some other fish (2 many to name at this time). I have been leaving the lights on from 7:00 am to about 8:30 pm and the fish seem to be ok with this. Just this last weekend I went on a 2 day vacation in which I left the lights off the whole time. When I returned, I turned the lights on and noticed that my neon was all grey in color and was just darting irregularly. I was worried for his health. I checked back up on him about an hour later and he had all his color back and was acting normal. He has been fine for the past few days now, so I don't think that he is ill. Is this wierd or is this normal for neon tetras?

PS: the neon that I am referring to is the sole survivor of the original 3 that I bought. The other 2 died from what I can tell is from natural causes, no simptoms of illness. I can't add any more neons to my tank since my platies have mated and is pushing my tank to overload right now.

My cardinals lost all their color every night, and then were fine during the day. It seems to be a normal phenomenon. Turn your lights on late at night and observe the neon. If he is colorless again, and then the next day he's ok, it's fine.

Just a thought, did you ever think of building up the school again? Most tetras are schooling fish and do better in schools of six or more.

*edit* :oops: oops, I just read my post and saw the end of your post...nevermind about the more neon thing