Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-12-2007, 10:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

loaches= deep 6

I can not keep loaches alive. I really like them. Bala Sharks either. Other than the lack of scales I can't think of why they are dying. Usually to ick. I have my tank at 78 degrees.
Also, I get water droplets on the underside of my tank cover. Is that from the water heat?

Old 01-12-2007, 10:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Maybe it's a Missouri thing. I'm in St. Louis. My zebra loach committed suicide tonight for no apparent reason. Bottom feeders jumping out? Whatever.

Sorry for your loss.

Old 01-12-2007, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Maybe if I pronounced it Missourah, they would live.
Old 01-12-2007, 10:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

The droplets on the underside of the lid are from the water vapor rising from the tank and hitting the relatively cool tank lid. This is the same as the condensation that develops on the side of a cold, umm lets say soft drink, on a warm summer day.

What is your water temperature doing after water changes?
Old 01-12-2007, 10:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Well I do have one other loach, the yoyo. Fingers crossed he doesn't know what state he lives in.
Old 01-12-2007, 10:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Send a message via MSN to Zagz
In order to treat ich, the heat method works the best. Turn temps up to 87F slowly and keep the temp there for 2 weeks after the last spot of ich is gone. Loaches are prone to ich I swear. Also add aeration to the water when temps are up. Hopefully if you try them again in the future this will help.

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 10:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict