Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-20-2017, 02:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Tacit Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 476
Logic and logistics

I've been thinking recently about setting up some sort of small RCS shrimp breeding project because they are so hard to come by in my area. I have some old equipment from a decommissioned tank (a nice stand and a sump filter), some space in the house, and even permission from my wife, so now I just need to figure out what I really want to do.

Given the dimensions of the stand (it was for an old tall 55 gallon tank) I've been thinking I could either set up a 40 gallon breeder and drill it to use the sump, or I could set up three 10 gallon tanks, possibly with matten sponge filters. Both ways have pros and cons with them, namely the lower cost and greater modularity of the three small separate tanks, but the bigger/more stable setup of a 40 gallon.

If I was going to breed for grade/different colors, the three tanks would be handy, but I'm worried about being able to keep up with the water parameters on three little tanks. If I did the matten filter thing it would be easy enough to drill a small overflow behind it and plumb them all to drain below, which would make it easier to do maintenance, but at the point you're buying 3x the hardware it starts to make the 40 gallon more cost effective, especially since I could mostly just use stuff I already have. But it wouldn't be as flexible.

So I keep going around in circles, not able to decide one way or another. If they made tanks that were 18" cubes that weren't $300 custom jobbies it would maybe simplify things because I could set 2 up side by side and I think they'd be about 25 gallons apiece, but $600 kinda blows the budget right out of the water!

So, I'm curious to hear your aquarium advice
__________________

__________________
__________________
My tank log
My, um, other tank log
Tacit Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 07:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,254
water bridge the 3 tens with pvc and some screen/sponge or some sort of prefilter strainer.
Then you can run sump on one end of the rack and return it on the other.
This will allow all 3 tanks to maintain the same parameters and increase volume for all three tanks..A large sump will aid in large water changes also...
Possibly just waterbridging behind each matten to next tank is good enough also..This way you only drill one tank.. Waterbridging is easy and effective..
I waterbridge all my sumps to make them larger..My 75 reef has a marineland model 2 sump with 2 @ 29 water bridged..My 180 has the model 4 with a 29 waterbridged to it.
Both run flawlessly now for years..
__________________

__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auct...sp&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 01:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Tacit Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 476
Logic and logistics

Huh. An interesting idea. I was pretty well set on the 10 gallons but had just about convinced myself that the 40 was the way to go. Now you're leaning me back the other direction
__________________
__________________
My tank log
My, um, other tank log
Tacit Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 08:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,254
The only thing that might happen waterbridging if you have 'high' flow is the tanks will all have a different water level due to the pressure needed to pass to next tank.
For me when the main sump is a couple inches higher then the 29g I know the mechanical media[sponges] need to be cleaned.
With low flow and clean sponges you may be within 2 inches from tank one to the third tank.
IMO for quality sake you need to separate the best from b grade and possible culls.
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auct...sp&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 10:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Tacit Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 476
If I go the 40 gallon route I was planning on throwing the culls into the community tank it'll be set up next to. I will probably do that anyway
__________________
__________________
My tank log
My, um, other tank log
Tacit Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 12:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 198
You can have 200 or so shrimp easy in one 10 gallon easy. Can separate for breeding purpose. Keep water separate. If you have a disease breakout in one it's contained and not a total loss. If running a single 40 or the 10's with same water source you have to treat all tanks. Just putting that out there. Keeping same water parameters in three different tanks is really easy.
__________________
brendenscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 12:57 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Tacit Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 476
If I go the 40 gallon route I was planning on throwing the culls into the community tank it'll be set up next to. I will probably do that anyway
__________________
__________________
My tank log
My, um, other tank log
Tacit Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 01:06 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Toad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,079
If you do separate tanks you could also go for different colors (yellows and blues for example) since the colors get muddled if they interbreed. Just a thought if the basic reds are that hard to get a hold of.
__________________
Toad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 02:00 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Tacit Blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toad View Post
If you do separate tanks you could also go for different colors (yellows and blues for example) since the colors get muddled if they interbreed. Just a thought if the basic reds are that hard to get a hold of.


This is true too. I was also thinking that you could do a poret foam separator in a 40 gallon.
__________________
__________________
My tank log
My, um, other tank log
Tacit Blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,254
If you use poret I might cut it 1" lower then tank top to keep them from climbing out !
I have self cloning crays and nothing can touch the edge like air hose or they are out...
I run everything from their tank straight up over the center of tank so if they climb it they fall back in eventually..
Separating one tank with foam I would think they might be able to climb over and mix?
__________________

__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auct...sp&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
log

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving houses and tanks, logistics? Lazlo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-22-2014 07:51 AM
Fishtank logistics Gubernaculum86 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 23 05-26-2011 02:07 PM
Logistics with changing tanks questions ScottS Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 04-27-2009 09:10 PM
Logistics question...... MACATUA Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-11-2004 12:59 PM
Ideas and logic about live sand biotoxin Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-03-2003 09:21 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.