Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-07-2014, 12:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

May be wanting to switch up my communities in my tanks.... advice?

OK, I'm a beginner fish keeper but I do a lot of research. I may want to switch up the fish in my tanks (I have a 10 gallon and a 20 gallon). Everything appears to be going ok... both tanks are just really full, and i'm wondering if I should change stuff around. Also, I'm a fiddler. There may be a chance for a upgrade of the 10 to a 20 down the road.

OK, so NOW:

* 10 gallon contains: 7 White Clouds and 3 guppies (1 male and 2 females)
* 20 gallon contains: 2 male dalmation mollies and 7 cherry barbs (2 males and 5 females) and a handful of ghost shrimp (maybe four..)

According to Aq Advisor, both tanks and alittle over 100% but I have double the filtration i need.

I was considering moving the Mollies to the 10 gallon and moving the clouds and guppies to the 20 gallon tank.... but would that make things worse in the 20? Or should I keep the guppies with the mollies to keep live-bearers together... but that would be in the 10? I really like the idea of Mollies with the guppies b/c the mollies eat like there is no tomorrow and hopefully will eat the guppy fry. Should I leave everything as is?

Both tanks are cycled (ish, the 20 sometimes shows trace ammonia even though I have nitrates) and are planted. Thanks for any advice!

Old 03-09-2014, 08:17 AM   #2
AA Member
Community Moderator

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

I must admit I like it as is

Old 03-09-2014, 09:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Personally, you should put the mollies in the 10 gallon, and move the clouds. But what ever you want.
Old 03-09-2014, 10:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice