Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-18-2010, 06:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to cashmoney0596
maybe a start of a problem

the stats..

i started my tank on 2/20. when i started i added the filter sponge of my 20gal tank and a plant to help cycle along with the some ammonia (no3:0 no2:0 ph6.5)

2/21 again(no3:0 no2:0 ph6.5) i added 6giant danos to also help speed up the process also.

nothing changed untill 3/6 i added 4 more fish but before i added them my readings were still (no3:0 no2:0 ph6.0). the ph droped .5 from 2/26 to 3/6.

on 3/11 (no3:0 no2:0 ph6.0).

i havnt checked for a week and today is the first major change ive had, on the 15th i added 6rocks for a cave and 2 plants and my readings jumped up to (no3:40 ppm no2:0 ph6.5).

its a 110gallon tank i changed about 15gallons sunday when i vacumed the sand. it could just be a fluke i will check again in the morning and if its the same readings what would be next? a large water change and clean the filter? or would i want to leave the filter alone for the bacteria
__________________

__________________
cashmoney0596 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 06:45 PM   #2
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
One thing you don't want to do right now is vacuum the sand. The good bacteria need to build up in it. They live mainly in the substrate, filter and on the decor, not so much in the water column. Vacuuming the substrate will only make it take longer to cycle. If you get a build up, just skim over it but not clean it. Also don't clean the filter, for the reason stated above. If you get gunky build up, rinse it in a bucket of tank water and re-use.

Now, I have to say this so don't get bent out of shape. Remove the fish. It's much safer to do a fishless cycle. If you insist on keeping the fish in there, you need to do constant water changes to keep the ammonia down to .25. Anything higher and the fish suffer.


What kind of rock did you add?
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to start a refuge, dont know where to start Squado Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 11-08-2008 03:21 PM
Wanting to Start a Planted Tank ... Dont Know Where to Start Viperboy Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 03-25-2006 06:48 PM
Pulse start, probe start, electronic?? What's up??? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 02-05-2005 12:09 AM
eheim start up problem - pls help brindley33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-21-2005 01:36 PM
Want to start a coral/reef system...where to start? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-19-2004 09:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×