Metal Halides

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Holokai

Aquarium Advice Regular
I did a quick search on the topic, but I was unable to determine the answer to my question - Would two 250w MH lamps be too much for a planted FW tank? I'm converting from SW to FW, and want a heavily planted tank, I figure the more light the better, right? But I am new to planted FW tanks. Thanks for any advice.

- Chris

MH's are used for growing plants, but I think they use a lower Kelvin rated bulb...something in the 4300 range I believe. What size tank? I would think tho, that no matter what size it is, with 2 250's you can grow a jungle. 8) Just be sure to have them high enough over the water and/or good ventilation so it doesn't overheat your water.

Why yes, a jungle IS my intention ;)
Ventilation is handled by 4 very LARGE fans.. I can place my hand an inch away from the bulb and it's cooler than room temperature 8) I bet I'd still get a nice sun tan though ;) I do have access to about 100 6500k Bulbs, so we'll see about that too. Thanks for the info.

I read somewhere on here that the more light you have, the more CO2 you need? whats taht all about? and would I need an ungodly amount?

when you hit 2 watts per gallon, you really need to start injecting CO2. Plants need 3 things: light, CO2 and food. All three have to be in balance, or you have problems. With strong light and good food (i.e. fertilizing), but no CO2, you'll grow plants and wicked amounts of algae. Without CO2 the plants can't grow fast enough to use up all the ferts, so the algae takes over that job.

You still haven't mentioned the size of your tank, but I'm assuming it's pretty good size. You'll have to get the parts for a pressurized CO2 setup. A 5-10pound CO2 cylinder, a regulator (get a Milwaukee All in One), and something to diffuse the CO2 into the water.

Whoops