Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-10-2010, 11:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 37
Moving to a new home: how to move fish tank?

So, next month, I will be moving to a house that is 90 miles away from my current apartment. I have a 20g long fish tank with 30 lbs of fluorite in it. My main concern is moving the tank itself.. can I leave the gravel in there and move the tank? Has anyone left the gravel inside the aquarium and drove to a new location? I'm guessing people don't advise that you do that because the glass might crack under the gravel load and moving vehicle.

Any inputs? I'd really hate to uproot all my plants!
__________________

__________________
lake_tuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
I wouldn't have thought leaving the gravel in there would make too much difference if the level isn't too high. I'd guess the problem is the sides of the tank etc.

But is there any reason why you can't just take the gravel out? It would do you better to take it out and keep it in a bucket for the journey. If you can keep it wet there's a chance of some of the bacteria surviving the trip.

Of course the critical thing is to keep your filter wet throughout.
__________________

__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
what i would do is get 2 10 gallon tubs from walmart. put the fish/filter media in one and the substrate in the other. best to remove everything and start over.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CA_BroncoFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 1,553
id do as mgamer says and if your really concerned about the plants then I would just take a section around the plants and put it in a large enough container to hold the plants and substrate and transport it that way.
__________________
-CHAD
"Another Fish Tank!?!?!?!?" -My Wife
CA_BroncoFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
what i would do is get 2 10 gallon tubs from walmart. put the fish/filter media in one and the substrate in the other. best to remove everything and start over.
Do these tubs have a lid? Also, if I were to put the fish in a container with a lid, can I seal them in for about 1.5 hrs to avoid water splashes in my car?
__________________
lake_tuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Whitestone, Queens, NY
Posts: 592
yes the tubs have lids... and yes you can seal them in for a few hours...

i moved a 45 gal from Philadelphia to NYC (105 miles) just under 3hrs with traffic... took all the media/substrate/decor in one bucket covered in water... and all the fish in another with a small amount of gravel on the bottom...

got to the new place, set it up... added all the substrate/decor with the water then the fish with all the water... ended up moving just under 20 gal of the 45 gal... so basically just did a major water change... no problems..

moved it again a year after that, same method... every fish made every move!
__________________
Andrewz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CA_BroncoFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 1,553
Ill be moving my tanks soon and will be using a very similar method. Highly recommend it
__________________
-CHAD
"Another Fish Tank!?!?!?!?" -My Wife
CA_BroncoFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 166
I moved 160 miles and left all my gravel in my 55 gallon tank. If you empty the tank right before you leave (like I did) I don't think you'll have much of a problem with it drying out and bacteria dying.
__________________

__________________
TCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
move, moving, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to my new home and looking for advice for moving tank sliderfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2009 10:30 PM
moving - how to move planted tank and fish shrek_vn2002 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 02-11-2009 09:01 PM
Moving your tank when you move. Possible? Patroklos Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 06-29-2008 10:22 PM
I'm moving...Best way to move a tank? Cheadle Chick Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-09-2006 10:38 PM
Moving soon . How do we move the tank? newcomer Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 08-18-2003 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×