Mudskippers, cool pictures

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

leannec

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey there I just bought some mud skippers and I am trying to find an alternative food source other than crickets for these little guys they are just babies and crickets seem to be to large for them. Any suggestions?

What cute lil buggers! Nice set-up too :)

I haven't kept them myself, so I have no experience in feeding them. I wonder if they'll take bloodworm; either frozen or if not, then live?

Those are very cool. :D What do they eat in the wild?

Earthworms, mealworms, waxworms. no experience mind you, but that's what I would try. you may do better at a bait and tackle shop that the lfs for those type foods. or collect some earthworms on your own (after the ground is thawed), most critters can't resist little garden worms, as opposed to giant nightcrawlers you would get at the bait shop.

[center:fda7ba4efe]:n00b: Welcome to AA, Leannec :smilecolros:[/center:fda7ba4efe]

Good luck with the mud skippers!

Well i tried an experiment, I bought 10 crickets and 25 meal worms, they scooped up the worms in a second. All the crickets are still there this morning. Some had 2-3 in thier mouths each! It was very cute. They weren't that expensive I paid 8 bucks a peice cause no one was buying them at the pet store so I bought the whole stock. ha

Just to note dont buy King meal worms. My skippers are terrified of them , they won't go anywhere near them therefor eat them! oops.

Mud skippers!

Just a word of advice from a previous mudskipper owner...

I had a pair of mudskippers for a few years and they were great. Very interesting creatures.

But I woke up one morning, and they were on the floor and dried.

They had hopped out of the tank, through the lid.

The cheap water heater has stuck ON and the water temp went up very high.