My Killifish Project

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbib1089

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello Everyone,

After much research I decided to take a dive into the world of Killifish. I thought It would be a good idea to document the process for anyone else who wants to give Killifish a try.

First I did as much research as possible before purchasing anything. I searched threads on forums and watched as many youtube videos as I could find.

I finally decided on going with Rachovii Beira 98.
I started looking for the eggs on aquabid. I found a seller who was selling 50 eggs and some brine shrimp eggs for a killer deal, $5.00 shipped.

The eggs were coming from Thailand so they took about 20 days to ship to the U.S. Upon arrival I started getting everything in order.

I made a DIY brine shrimp hachery and gave it a test run since this is my first time hatching brine shrimp. I noticed that the brine shrimp eggs after 24 hours of hatching would sink instead of float to the top like I have read in many articles, and I over all didn't get a great hatch rate. I went out and purchased better quality brine shrimp eggs from my LFS which have given me superior results.

The next thing I needed to get in order were the hatching trays. I used two larger tupperware containers, one to hatch the killies with the peat and the other to grow them out a bit. I filled them about an inch with cycled tank water. An eyedropper works really well to transfer the killies between trays. Once the killies get big enough I am going to transfer them into a already cycled 5 gallon tank and depending on how many survive I may move them to a 10 gallon.