mysterious fish deaths

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

retiredsailor47

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm kinda new at this,but I need help i recently bought 55gal tank,exchanged from 36gal now I'm running two 110 power filters, this went on for two weeks everything was fine, until last night/ changed the media out, bio-max- charcoal- and added ammonia filter - rinsed sponge - everything was great except that I lost two blue gouramis- 3 speckled mollys-1 goldfish- 1high fin platy- 1 red tailed shark which I've had for three years- in approximately 7-8 hours the water was clear all the factors were in place everything normal/ so anybody help what happened. any advice or help would be appreciated :nono: retired sailor47

What did you change in the filter? I don't know what kind you have from your description but if you changed everything including the media where your nitrifying bacteria live, that's the problem.

Was the tank cycled? Have you tested your tank water for ammonia and nitrite, at least?

changing the media sounds most likely. The filter media is where most of the bacteria that keep your water non-toxic live. If you change it (replaced it with new) you probably are having water toxicity issues, which is why your fish are dying.

changed the media out, bio-max- charcoal- and added ammonia filter - rinsed sponge -

Everyone else touched on this already - but if the above quote means that you replaced all of this stuff with brand new stuff and rinsed the sponge in tap water, you have removed basically all of the bacteria that runs your ecosystem.

If this is what has happened, you must now treat your tank as if it is a new uncycled tank with fish: I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice