Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-21-2012, 04:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Newfishlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 99
Need help!

My tank recently finished cycling. I planned on getting fish later tonight. I preformed a water change and tested. The nitrates are still between 40-80. I used city water from my dad shop. We have well water here but the only temp matched water I can get has been treated with a water softener that we put that special salt in to take the iron out. Can that be used in the tanks? I have been afraid to use it because of that. Thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
Newfishlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newfishlover View Post
My tank recently finished cycling. I planned on getting fish later tonight. I preformed a water change and tested. The nitrates are still between 40-80. I used city water from my dad shop. We have well water here but the only temp matched water I can get has been treated with a water softener that we put that special salt in to take the iron out. Can that be used in the tanks? I have been afraid to use it because of that. Thanks for the help!
What do you mean by temp matched water?
__________________

__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Newfishlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 99
Temperature matched. The only pure well water is out of the hose and it's below freezing. The water the comes out of the sink is treated through a softener. And I just tested the sink water. It's 0s for ammonia nitrites and nitrates and ph is 7.6. Is it ok to use?
__________________
Newfishlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newfishlover View Post
Temperature matched. The only pure well water is out of the hose and it's below freezing. The water the comes out of the sink is treated through a softener. And I just tested the sink water. It's 0s for ammonia nitrites and nitrates and ph is 7.6. Is it ok to use?
Not exactly sure what a softener is or does to the water, but Lots of people use tap water with no problems. Just make sure to use Prime. It removes a lot more bad stuff in tap water than other dechlorinators.
__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Newfishlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 99
Ok. I think I will try it. I searched this question on yahoo and I most of the stiff the popped up said I could. Thanks
__________________
Newfishlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:53 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newfishlover
Ok. I think I will try it. I searched this question on yahoo and I most of the stiff the popped up said I could. Thanks
Good luck!
__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
calfishguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milkyway Galaxy
Posts: 2,026
What do you mean nitrates between 40-80
Nitrates that are that high will kill all fish (nitrates should always be kept under 20ppm)
__________________
What is the correct number of aquariums an enthusiast should own. X+1 X being the current number of tanks you have.
calfishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Newfishlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 99
There wasn't fish in there yet. I was changing water after a fishless cycle. I did another large pwc.
__________________
Newfishlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
calfishguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milkyway Galaxy
Posts: 2,026
Sorry about the confusion
__________________
What is the correct number of aquariums an enthusiast should own. X+1 X being the current number of tanks you have.
calfishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Super_Blueberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Esko, MN
Posts: 651
The salt in the softener is only used to to create the brine that cleans the resin beads off during the softeners recharging period in the middle of the night. The rest of the time the salt just sits in the softener. (If it was always in the water, you would taste salt every time you got a drink.) 'Softened' well water is perfectly fine to use as long as you use a conditioner to make sure any trace elements are taken care of.
__________________

__________________
Super_Blueberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×