Need Help with my tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Paulcm10

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi I am kinda new to the hobby and i need some help.
I would like to start my tank by doing a lot of research first.

currently i have a 20g high tank. I plan on putting about 10 neon tetras, 1 bamboo shrimp, and the rest will be red cherry shrimp or other dwarf shrimps.

i need to know what kind of filter i need to have. I just bought an aqua clear 30 today and i wanna see if that good enough or i need to get an aqua clear 50 or would that just be overkilling it?

i also would like to know what kind of substrate i should have for my shrimps. I currently have big large substrate (the ones you get from petco with its natural colors) that's about 1/2 inch or 3/4 inch per rock. do i need a smaller substrate?

Another thing is what circulation pump should i use for this tank for my bamboo shrimp. i know he wants a current or would my power filter already make that current without a pump?

advices would be greatly appreciated! thanks!

Most people say you need a HOB filter rated 2 times the size of your tank, reason being is that over time your HOB filter will lose some water flow from wear and tear. As far as substrate for shrimp gravel is fine, most people say RCS look best with black sand (don't own any myself, but have some shipping to me this week). As far as the bamboo shrimp, I can't help ya with never owned one, but I can't imagine a small powerhead hurting anything.

thank you! that makes sense... i guess i have to go back to petco to get a different one.
another question since i am getting an aqua clear 50 instead of 30. would that suck my red cherry shrimps in? and if so should i put a sponge onto it so none of them would get sucked in?

would an aqua clear 50 have a stronger flow than aqua clear 30?