Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-11-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Need really quick help!

I was doing a pwc and I switched off my filter. When I went to switch it back on it's not working?! What do you think it could be!
__________________

__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shoei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: De Land, Florida
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Shoei
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samzter View Post
I was doing a pwc and I switched off my filter. When I went to switch it back on it's not working?! What do you think it could be!
1. Check make sure you didnt trip any fuses.
2. What kind of filter do you have? Does it need primed or water in it?
3. Try plugging it into another outlite
__________________

__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Shoei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoei

1. Check make sure you didnt trip any fuses.
2. What kind of filter do you have? Does it need primed or water in it?
3. Try plugging it into another outlite
I've checked the fuses , tried another socket and is a fluval 306. Someone is coming round to check the fuse inside the plug of the filter
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
What kind if filter is it? Sometimes impellers will get stuck and just need to be helped along to start spinning again.

*edit*
Saw it's a 306 sorry
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Dumb question, but are you sure you primed it? Mine is kind of tough to prime because my tank and stand are so tall.

Is it making any noise at all or just not turning on whatsoever? You might try taking it apart, cleaning out the impeller housing, and re-seating the impeller.

*edit* ninja'd
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Where are the impellers usually located ?
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:31 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shoei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: De Land, Florida
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to Shoei
Does it sound like its running at all or is it just completly not doing anything?
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Shoei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by severum mama
Dumb question, but are you sure you primed it? Mine is kind of tough to prime because my tank and stand are so tall.

Is it making any noise at all or just not turning on whatsoever? You might try taking it apart, cleaning out the impeller housing, and re-seating the impeller.

*edit* ninja'd
Right I have cleaned the pads , their holders the holes where the flow comes out of , and these carbon things. Yes I have primed it.
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 132
Hopefully it didn't kick up too much sand during the PWC and that could get in there and burn up the motor.
__________________
techo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:46 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
I went to the shop and they tested it, and said that it messed up the whole thing. I got a new one , moving the pads from the old one into it.
__________________

__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×