Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-24-2003, 02:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via Yahoo to Sinuhe
Need your input

There is a used aquarium available that I've got my eye on. I called the guy who's selling it, and got answers to my questions. It's an 80 liter/ 21 gallon tank with an aluminum frame. It hasn't been used for a year (empty of water for 1 year). Apparently it's in good condition, no scratches, etc. It's got an under gravel filter (run by an air pump) which I have no previous experience on, but it sounds like a good idea for this particular tank that I'm planning for one or two Gouramis, who apparently don't like a lot of surface movement in the water, which the internal power filters used around here cause a lot. It's got a 20 Watt submersible heater, and a lighting fixture that holds one fluorescent tube. I'm gonna go check the tank out on Sunday before making my decision. My questions to you are:

- Does the UGF sound good?
- Should I worry about leaking when the tank hasn't been used for a year? (I could supposedly test leakage by filling it up in my bathroom) He said it used to hold water just fine when it was in use still

Edited to add: He's asking 80 Euros for it, which is roughly the same in $. That's less than half the price of a similar brand new setup, which I consider a very good price if the tank really is in good condition.

Old 10-24-2003, 02:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic