New 12gal Fluval Edge Algae Already?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cath1024

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys I am a newbie to the aquarium world.
We just purchased a 12 gal Fluval Edge, filled it and conditioned and have had it running for about a week now.
We purchased a heater and have added 3 little fish - cant remember the name but it was soemthing like Playtos - does that sound right?

Anyways I also added in some live plants which now some of them have short green hairs growing off them is this algae and what can i add to help make this go away? I hear people talking about shrimp and snails but i am not sure?

The water looks good slightly cloudy but my hubby doesnt think it looks cloudy so that could just be me being a perfectionist and wanting everything just perfect :)

I also have the heat set at approx 78-79 is this good?

Any suggestions on what else i can add?
Me and my kids are loving this set up and want to add more fishies but not sure how soon we should add to the 3 little guys we already have?

Any advice would be great!

Thanks!

Did you cycle the tank before you added the fish?

If not, I would not add any more fish just yet. Watch the ammonia levels closely, and do water changes appropriately.

The hairlike algae could have come with the plants. Later, after you're sure the tank has cycled, you could add some amano shrimp, they will eat it.

I had the tank running about 3 days - my daughter wanted to add some fish so badly - we took a sample into Big Als and they told me the water was perfect and said we could add 2 or 3 fish to start - he suggested the one we got and they have been in there about 4 days and seem quite happy.