new filter question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

spyyro

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm looking to possibly buy a used 65 gallon tank w/ stand and canopy but it doesn't include a filter. So... what is the best filter to buy and what to stay away from? I currently use a AquaClear HOB filter for my 29 gallon and I've had no problems with it. Any recommendations? I'm looking to possibly use a sand substrate and maybe a live plant or two in the new tank... currently undecided ATM.

Also, what are the benefits/disadvantages of using a HOB filter versus a canister type? (as I have no experience whatsoever with the canister type)

Go with a canister filter. A Rena XP3 would do the trick. It's got a spraybar outlet that gives you pretty good water flow.

I'd go with a canister. Fluval, Eheim, Cascade, and Rena are all good brands to choose from. Advantages: Hidden, less noise, more efficient, easy to clean (my Cascade is a breeze), and easy to move around (no worries of water splashing out. Mine also has a handle). It may be intimidating to look at but a canister is easy to maintain. It took me (technical idiot) under 15 minutes to set up my canister. Even I can disconnect, clean, and reconnect without any issues.

Wow... as I look around on the internet, these canister type filters come with quite a price tag on them... quite expensive!

They are more expensive, but worth it IMO. Check out www.bigalsonline.com for pricing. For a 65 gal tank you'll want at least 2 hob filters plus a power head for water circulation. Then price compare. Honestly, if I was going with a 65 and using HOBs I'd probably put 3 AC filters on the tank to increase the water quality.

For that size of tank I would have to agree. They are more expensive but more powerful and more effcient IMO.