New tank equipment and stocking questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cghill

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, thanks for all the help you give to beginners.

I plan on getting a new tank in the near future, about 40 gallons. What will I require in the way of filtering and heating. I've read the forums and many people talk about 2 filters, undergravel and hanging, and I don't know if this is required. The main thing I want is for it to be as quiet as possible. Ease of cleaning would also be a plus, since I am a beginner. If you could give me some models so I could find them on ebay.

What will I need as far as heaters? will I need 2 of them? How many watts will they need to be? Some quality brand names would be nice so I can look for them on ebay also.

And finally, heres the fish I was looking into getting...

Zebra Danios - 7
Neon Tetra - 7
Angelfish - 1
Red Tailed Shark - 1
Male Betta - 1
Dojo Loach - 1
Cory Cats - 4
One other fish - ?

I would like some suggestions and opions on this group of fish. I've heard the red-tailed shark is a bad choice, but I really like them. However, if you guys think that is a really bad idea, just tell me cuz you guys know a lot more than I do. I would like some suggestion on active cory cats to get. I would also like some suggestions on the other fish category. I was thinking Tiger Barbs, but I've heard they nip at the angelfish's fins (I've been doing some research :D ) I'd like something bright, and very active. Basically I want a colorful, active and an easy to care for tank. Just tell me what you guys think about my choices.

I'm also looking into a planted tank - but no CO2 (I'm on a tight budget). So some suggestions as far as lighting and plants would be nice. I've seen some really neat planted tanks without CO2, can you give me some resources on how thats acheived.