New Tank In Progress Feedback Appreciated [Pics]

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

atomiclord

Aquarium Advice Activist
Here I am back for my daily AA meeting...

-

I don't remember if I've introduced myself yet. My name is Kieran and I am currently studying Renewable Energy and Electrical Power Engineering, combined with Energy Studies (Physics) at uni in Perth, Western Australia. I still live at home, because even by working 30+ hours per week I still can't afford to rent (prices have skyrocketed recently). I grow bonsai, and have done so for a few years now. I've been basically taking care of my little brother's tank because I feel sorry that his fish are continually subjected to his mistreatment, and I decided to get my own tank. SO I shelled out quite a bit of money on a 30L tank, found part of the hood was broken, and managed to talk my LFS into letting me swap / upgrade it to a 160L. Here begins the fun.

-

OK, I decided to make a new thread to get some feedback on my new tank. To give you an idea, I've just gone from this: (it was breaking)
img_985893_0_5725ff7b22cebb134c716f4e1afafdca.jpg

To this:
img_985893_1_24765e090601a83f66631eb99aa71aa7.jpg

160L / 42gal freshie tank.

A couple days ago it progressed to this:
img_985893_2_c07cf7db167e32859cddab0db92bc99c.jpg

As of this morning it looks like this:
img_985893_3_be617053ad67e859d83f25df1d496189.jpg

There are now 2 extra fluoro tubes: a 18000K 24W Power Glo and a 10000K 24W Marine Glo. I like the blue for some reason. I've been trialling the sera CO2 fizzy tablets, figuring that even if they don't work it'll give my a half decent diffuser for if I go to a DIY CO2 system.