Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-10-2011, 10:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
gabetonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: san Jose california
Posts: 30
Send a message via Skype™ to gabetonik
new tank setup for my betta

ok I just setup my 10 gallon tank with a heater ,filter,gravel ,three plants .I added water conditioner yesterday at the right amount so what I want to know is when is it ok to add a my Betta to the tank and if I am missing anything else for my tank?
__________________

__________________
gabetonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,585
I don't think you're missing anything, but have you cycled your tank if not then do it ASAP!
__________________

__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
gabetonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: san Jose california
Posts: 30
Send a message via Skype™ to gabetonik
ok so what exactly do I have to do to cycle it???
__________________
gabetonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 27
Most people recommend cycling the tank first. There are guides in the stickies I believe. But you should have a water test kit to see if the water parameters are in healthy levels.
__________________
Rush03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,911
Hello and welcome to AA!

That's an excellent question. You should do a fishless cycle on the tank. Here's a couple links to help with explaining the nitrogen cycle and how fishless cycling works: The Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle and The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling.

Do you by chance have any other aquarium in the home with a filter?
__________________
siva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by siva
Hello and welcome to AA!

That's an excellent question. You should do a fishless cycle on the tank. Here's a couple links to help with explaining the nitrogen cycle and how fishless cycling works: The Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle and The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling.

Do you by chance have any other aquarium in the home with a filter?
Ahaha those were the pages I was looking for! Just follow those and use some gravel and plants and filters (if you have any of those items) in your tank and then follow the steps and then you'll be on your way!
__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
gabetonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: san Jose california
Posts: 30
Send a message via Skype™ to gabetonik
Quote:
Originally Posted by siva
Hello and welcome to AA!

That's an excellent question. You should do a fishless cycle on the tank. Here's a couple links to help with explaining the nitrogen cycle and how fishless cycling works: The Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle and The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling.

Do you by chance have any other aquarium in the home with a filter?
no I only have one
__________________
gabetonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Galligak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Oxford, OH
Posts: 20,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabetonik

no I only have one
Even though you have none you can still grow them, it'll take longer but it will still get you to the finish line. Just read the fishless cycle thread and go from there. It isn't that bad
__________________

__________________
Galligak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
betta, new tank setup, setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5g Betta tank - Airpump or not? goodeyesniper Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 07-04-2011 11:58 PM
Betta Tank! NikNak Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-04-2011 12:14 AM
New 10 gallon betta tank Emclenaghan Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 07-03-2011 06:17 PM
Betta Tank Build mr.waffles1842 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 20 07-01-2011 02:59 PM
I have a 5.5 gallon betta tank have question DustyAnn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 06-27-2011 09:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×