Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-23-2012, 02:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Newbie :) Help identifying fish :)

Hello im new to the hobby im about two months in and addicted! Not even sure if im posting this in the right section of the forum

I recently bought two fish from Petco (they were the only two left) and LOVE the way they look. they haven't got anymore in and when I try and look them up on the internet by what they were labeled as nothing similar comes up. I also went to my LFS (with out pic) I couldn't find them and they had no idea what I was talking about lol. Ill attach a pic any help would be great thanks!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120923_115717.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	120262

Old 09-23-2012, 03:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Looks like a painted tetra. Unfortunately, anything painted doesn't last long because they are dyed with artificial stuff. I would return them if you can.

Of course, I could be wrong.

Old 09-23-2012, 03:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

It could be a white skirt tetra. I don't see any dye.

Rule number two: Always cycle your tank.
bettaowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 03:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

+1 for white skirt tetra, that's what it looks like to me.
Old 09-23-2012, 03:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

What's that pink stuff near the gills? I don't know.....I keep tetras myself, and that looks painted to me. White skirts are all white.....the "painted" part starts to wear off.
Old 09-23-2012, 04:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie