Newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dac1096

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. Ok, please no yelling, since I am just a newbie here and trying my best:).

Anyway, my son won a goldfish (I think it is a Sarasa Comet) a few weeks ago. For the first few days, we just kept him (George) in a large glass bowl to make sure he would live long enough to go buy a tank/supplies. Well he lived, and so we bought a beginner 10 gal. tank, plants (plastic) gravel, cave etc. After a few days of George swimming around, my younger son decided that he wanted a fish as well, so we went out and bought another goldfish (oranda I think?) named Fred. I was testing the water each day and the ammonia was hanging between .25 and .50. Water was a bit cloudy so I did some partial water changes every other day.

We went away overnight and came back to find that Fred was dead:(. We only got him 4 days before. After the funeral services:(, the ammonia level went up to 1.0, which I assumed was b/c there was a dead fish in the tank.

Now, a week later, the ammonia is between 0 and .25 but the water is still a bit cloudy (but getting better). I am now feeding George every other day (flakes and pellets-not together, just rotating them with each feeding)

I'm not even sure what to ask....(why the cloudy water, why did Fred die, was that an ammonia "spike" that I hear of, can I get another fish)