newbie questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cfelski

Aquarium Advice Newbie
OK, I'm new, I'm a biology teacher and want to start up an aquarium at home - I think I'm going to go for a 35-40gal tank and I looked into the types of fish to get - I think I'm going to go for a combination of gourami, rasbora, loach, cherry barbs, maybe some neons. i know i can't get all of these, i was just checking around for compatibility. A few questions:
--I need an algae eater - maybe a flying fox? will a snail work or will it kill my plants?
--what plants should i get?
--how many fish can a 35 gallon tank support? I know it prob depends on the size of the fish, i'm just looking for a general idea
--once i have the equipment up and running, can i add all the fish at once or one type at a time?

thanks!

Welcome to AA! Nice to have a Biology teacher here.

--I need an algae eater - maybe a flying fox? will a snail work or will it kill my plants?

Dwarf plecos and small planorbis spp (aka tiny ramshorns) will take care of your algae issues if you should happen to have any.

--what plants should i get?

Come on over to the Planted tank forum...more support from some very well established plant geeks...err, folks.

--how many fish can a 35 gallon tank support? I know it prob depends on the size of the fish, i'm just looking for a general idea.

You just answered your own question but it also depends on aggression as well. For instance, if you had some SA cichlids such as apistos, rams or Angels, they like to take over sections of your tank for their own purposes.

--once i have the equipment up and running, can i add all the fish at once or one type at a time?

You just asked the Million Dollar question. It is the bane of aquaria and the reason is quite simple: