Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-18-2013, 08:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
Nitrite Help

Hello guys, i have a 20gallon tank for my common goldfish(Not too interested in twin tails), and i have been using nutrafin cycle. Its a good product if you *Shake the Bottle*. Anyways, I am a few days into my cycle, i havn't gotten any ammonia strikes, but my nitrite reading started ascending a bit. I dont know if i am supposed to be worried about this or not. Ive done 20% Water changes for 2 days now(With the declorinator), and i just want to know if this is something to be scared about, or did the product quick jump me and im at the nitrite stage.(I have Filtration with cartridges, Air Pump, Neon Light(I turn on less then 12hours a day.), And i give food twice a day.) Hes 4'', So i feed him pellets.

Please help.

Thank you.

~Jake
__________________

__________________
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
It seems like you're in the nitrite stage now. Keep doing water changes, and as long as you keep it low enough, you should be fine. Also, a common goldfish really needs a pond. A twenty gallon is the minimum for the fancies, which are a lot smaller when full grown. This guy will probably be stunted if his housing isn't changed.
__________________

__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 10:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 1,622
How much nitrite are we talking about? Nitrites are dangerous & need to be kept as close to 0 as possible. If your nitrites are .5 or higher do at least a 50% water change & do more than one in a day if need be.
__________________
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:10 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
phin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 689
Add 10ml of prime 1x per day to detoxify the nitrite.
__________________
phin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
How can i be sure i am in the Nitrite Period of the nitrogen cycle?
__________________
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
phin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 689
If you have elevated nitrites and your ammonia levels have peaked then you are in the nitrite stage of establishing your nitrifying bacterial colonies.
__________________
phin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
Is a 0.1~0.3 gonna kill my goldfish? If it is, do you think oscar fish are more hardy? And have a better survival chance?
__________________
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
You generally wanna keep your nitrites below .25 for any fish. The fish may be hardy, but too high of a nitrite level will kill any fish. The solution is water changes, or in the future, do a fishless cycle to skip all those daily water changes.
__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Teakwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishanatic View Post
Is a 0.1~0.3 gonna kill my goldfish? If it is, do you think oscar fish are more hardy? And have a better survival chance?
As long as you do water changes or won't kill your gold fish. Gold fish and oscars get huge, I wouldn't get an Oscar unless you have at minimum a 55 gallon tank for him to be in.
__________________
Teakwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Teakwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 449
Really it's the same case with a common gold fish they can grow larger then a foot, so a minimum of 55 for 1 if you want to keep one healthy and happy. But there are people more knowledgable on commons who can comment then me. Just stay on top of water changes and keep testing your water. And don't put an Oscar in a 20 gallon unless you have a big tank to move it to very quickly.
__________________
Teakwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:36 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
Common Goldies should really be in a 75 gallon, 55 will eventually not let them turn around eventually.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:40 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Teakwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
Common Goldies should really be in a 75 gallon, 55 will eventually not let them turn around eventually.
*like* your right, as 55g are 12 inches wide and they will get longer then that assuming they are not stunted, same with as Oscar really last thing I read said they could get 14 inches long.
__________________
Teakwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:42 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
I've heard people say that their common goldfish really do best in a pond, actually.
__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:14 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
Shouldnt be much of a problem, i have a 120gallon, a 75 gallon and a 90 gallon. In any case, ill be able to transfer the goldfish to the 75 gallon and the oscar to the 90 gallon.
__________________
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:21 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
Do you have the Oscar now? Or are you talking about if you get one?
__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:23 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
I want to get two baby ones that i saw at a lfs called Safari. They're identical and i fell in love with them. Do you think i should put them in a 90 gallon or 120gallon atm?
__________________
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:23 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
Bigger is always better. But is there anything in the 120 yet?
__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:28 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
Not at the moment, but i had 3 15'' Marble cat shark in it, wich i gave away, but its a cycled tank.
__________________
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:39 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishanatic View Post
Not at the moment, but i had 3 15'' Marble cat shark in it, wich i gave away, but its a cycled tank.
So is the 125 a salt tank then if you had a marble cat in it?
__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:54 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: AquaLand
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzydea View Post
So is the 125 a salt tank then if you had a marble cat in it?
Yes it is.
__________________

__________________
Fishanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrite, nitrite help

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×