Nutrient deficiencies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NativeCreations

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 10 gallon planted tank with hygrophila and hornwort. It has been running for about 3 weeks now. I used Carib sea flora max substrate and added seachem flourish root tans throughout the substrate. I am running a nicrew classic led plus 15w 6500k. 72 par @ 12” All the plants seem to be growing but are turning white and losing color. Any ideas? There’s also 5 small tiger barns and two small gouramis that I’m moving to a 40 breeder once they grow a bit. IMG_5496.jpgView attachment 1View attachment 1

White leaves on new growth is usually an iron deficiency. White on mature leaves as well is a magnesium deficiency?? I'm still learning about plants so maybe ZxC or Goatnad can give further insight.

could you get any close up pictures of the leaves? new and old growth. there are several deficiencies that deal with white leaves. co2, magnesium and iron deficiencies will cause white leaves.

could you get any close up pictures of the leaves? new and old growth. there are several deficiencies that deal with white leaves. co2, magnesium and iron deficiencies will cause white leaves.

I’ll send more pics when I get home from studying! Thanks for the speedy response!

I'm gonna go with an iron deficiency. The veins still look a bit green while the leaf is yellow/whitish. Also your old growth looks fine. Common signs of an iron deficiency. Don't take this as absolute though. Hopefully zxc will weigh in as I feel he is a bit more knowledgable about dosing and deficiencies then I am.

I would say it's more than just Iron. The only fertilizer you've put in the tank are a tiny bit of micro nutrients. Flourish tabs contain insignificant amounts of Nitrogen, Phosphorous and Potassium. They are also lacking on a few key micro elements.