Opinions on my friends 120gal no filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Reefer James

Aquarium Advice Freak
This is my friends 120gal aquarium with no attached filtration. It's been up and running for around 8-10 months now since we moved it from his old house.

The main areas for filtration is in that porous rock in the display.

Just curious in everyones opinion! Sorry its kind of cloudy we just had finished a 70g water change

Hey, i'm no expert on reef aquariums having not owned one but are you kind of doing a reef set up but as freshwater using rock to house the beneficial bacteria? I would personally get a canister filter to polish the water and get the gunk out otherwise you might end up doing an absolute crap load of water changes not having a protein skimmer. Correct me if I'm wrong in my assumptions.

once you get a filter you could get some discus perhaps? They are really cool. A massive clan of discus of all different colours. that's what I'd do in that sized tank. And a heap of cardinal tetras. Plus get pressurized co2 with an outlet at each end and plant some real nice plants. Use seachem flourite as substrate or eco-complete to keep the plants happy.

Are there powerheads in the tank?

If there are powerheads, it would be doable. If not then i would say its a bit too overstocked.

Really, i fail to see a reason to go with an unfiltered tank. Thats basically going back to the stone ages of fish keeping when air pumps were first invented.

Nice!

I have an unfiltered, heavily planted 10g that's absolutely thriving.

Of course there's circulation pumps, that's the only way water is being effectively moved through those rock pores.