Otocinclus fish not eating?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FoxRaid

Aquarium Advice Activist
This is my first time having these little guys. I have three in counting and they appear to be happy but they arent eating. I do not have any live plants in my tank just decor because i do not like the mess. I feed them algae wafers and they never seem to notice or bother to go get it. They just suck around the whole tank not bothering to go get food. The rest of my algae eaters go for the wafers but they wont. Should I try boiling some zucchini and cutting a slice into the tank? They dont look sick but i dont want them to starve either.

How long has your tank been set up? Not only do these guys require an established system with some algae growth, they unfortunatly also have a rather high mortality rate as they are very sensitive to changes, especially moving from system to system. They are also pretty sensitive to water quality, and don't do very well in higher nitrate environments. You can try some blanched zucchini, as some have reported luck with this.

I bought 4 for my system last year... did a couple large pwc's before picking them up (got my nitrates less than 5), and drip acclimated them for about an hour and a half. I lost the first one within a week, and then a second one a week later.... tried the zucchini, but they wouldn't go near it. The other two have been fat & happy ever since.....

Typically, if they make it in your system for a month, then they're going to do OK as long as you keep up on your pwc's.

Last edited: