Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-19-2019, 06:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
pH during cycling new planted tank

Hi, everyone,
I have a new planted tank not cycled yet. I have lost all my filter media in my old cycled tank, so I have to start cycling from the very beginning. It’s my first time to use co2 injection. I’ve already planted hair grass in the Amazonia soil. And CO2 is being injected with lights on 6 hours daily. ADA soil leaches out plenty of ammonia and I don’t have to add any of it.
pH without CO2 injection is around 6.4 and I believe it’s normal when using ADA soil. When CO2 is being injected, pH dropped to around 5.6.
I am now doubted if pH at 5.6 would badly affect the good bacteria and the cycling process.
Could anybody advise me? Many thanks
__________________

__________________
A1720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 02:17 PM   #2
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,459
Youíll have to wait it out. Eventually it will cycle it will just take little longer than normal.

Sounds like you are doing the right things at the moment.
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 03:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
Youíll have to wait it out. Eventually it will cycle it will just take little longer than normal.

Sounds like you are doing the right things at the moment.
Thanks a lot!
__________________
A1720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 09:42 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,873
Growing Hairgrass

Quote:
Originally Posted by A1720 View Post
Hi, everyone,
I have a new planted tank not cycled yet. I have lost all my filter media in my old cycled tank, so I have to start cycling from the very beginning. Itís my first time to use co2 injection. Iíve already planted hair grass in the Amazonia soil. And CO2 is being injected with lights on 6 hours daily. ADA soil leaches out plenty of ammonia and I donít have to add any of it.
pH without CO2 injection is around 6.4 and I believe itís normal when using ADA soil. When CO2 is being injected, pH dropped to around 5.6.
I am now doubted if pH at 5.6 would badly affect the good bacteria and the cycling process.
Could anybody advise me? Many thanks
Hello A...

You don't need CO2 with Hairgrass. Unlike, most other carpet plants, it only requires medium light, so the fertilizer the fish produce is all it needs. You don't need to worry about the water chemistry. As long as you keep it steady with large, weekly water changes once the tank cycles, you'll be good.

CO2 is pricey and can tricky to set up and maintain. Save this type of system for the plants that require strong lighting and when you've gotten some more experience growing the easier plants.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 11:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello A...



You don't need CO2 with Hairgrass. Unlike, most other carpet plants, it only requires medium light, so the fertilizer the fish produce is all it needs. You don't need to worry about the water chemistry. As long as you keep it steady with large, weekly water changes once the tank cycles, you'll be good.



CO2 is pricey and can tricky to set up and maintain. Save this type of system for the plants that require strong lighting and when you've gotten some more experience growing the easier plants.



B
Dwarf hair grass is definitely a plant that benefits from high light and co2. Not to be confused with standard hair grass, probably what you're thinking of.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 11:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,873
Dwarf Hairgrass

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
Dwarf hair grass is definitely a plant that benefits from high light and co2. Not to be confused with standard hair grass, probably what you're thinking of.
Hi Brook...

No. i was talking about Dwarf Hairgrass. It takes just moderate light and you don't need to supplement with a CO2 system. A shorter tank with a couple of florescent, T8, 6500K bulbs is fine for growing this one. All you need to dose is nitrogen, phosphorous and potassium. You can make sure the fish are fed these and they'll take care of fertilizing.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 01:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,157
You sir are incorrect. That's fine though.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 05:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,873
Hi Brookster...

I was only wrong about Dwarf Hair grass once. And, that's when I thought I was wrong. I've kept it before years and years ago under the conditions I gave. So, thanks for the challenge. I'll go get some and then whomever reads this and wants to grow this plant without expensive ferts or lighting can do it with the right tank dimensions. Check out Aquariadise.com. A good, knowledgeable source for aquatic plant information. It seems to me there's some good information about keeping this plant.

Thanks again,

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 06:04 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hi Brookster...

I was only wrong about Dwarf Hair grass once. And, that's when I thought I was wrong. I've kept it before years and years ago under the conditions I gave. So, thanks for the challenge. I'll go get some and then whomever reads this and wants to grow this plant without expensive ferts or lighting can do it with the right tank dimensions. Check out Aquariadise.com. A good, knowledgeable source for aquatic plant information. It seems to me there's some good information about keeping this plant.

Thanks again,

B
Pics or it didnt happen.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 08:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello A...

You don't need CO2 with Hairgrass. Unlike, most other carpet plants, it only requires medium light, so the fertilizer the fish produce is all it needs. You don't need to worry about the water chemistry. As long as you keep it steady with large, weekly water changes once the tank cycles, you'll be good.

CO2 is pricey and can tricky to set up and maintain. Save this type of system for the plants that require strong lighting and when you've gotten some more experience growing the easier plants.

B
Hi, BBradbury. Thanks for your advice.
__________________
A1720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 11:10 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,873
No problem. I'm getting things together and wouldn't dream of not backing up my post with some photos. Anyone else who'd like to try this, you'll want a shorter, but longer tank. I'm going to use a 20 gallon long, if I can locate a used one. If not, I'll take what I can get and make some changes. I like to take advantage of used equipment if I can. Would it be cheating if I used something like Aqausoil or root tabs? I didn't last time, but I feel like I need to produce something pretty quickly.


Remember, you'll need to supplement with the N,P,K macronutrients.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 06:55 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,645
pH during cycling new planted tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
No problem. I'm getting things together and wouldn't dream of not backing up my post with some photos. Anyone else who'd like to try this, you'll want a shorter, but longer tank. I'm going to use a 20 gallon long, if I can locate a used one. If not, I'll take what I can get and make some changes. I like to take advantage of used equipment if I can. Would it be cheating if I used something like Aqausoil or root tabs? I didn't last time, but I feel like I need to produce something pretty quickly.


Remember, you'll need to supplement with the N,P,K macronutrients.

B

Hi B,

No need to by a new tank. If this is for experimental purposes only you can lower the water level to increase the surface to volume ratio for increased co2/o2 levels. Less water will also increase the plants exposure to light.

If you say all you need is NPK and this can be done via fish food then anything else is cheating in my opinion although Iím in agreement with you that it can be done.
__________________

__________________
Caliban07 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, plant, planted, planted tank, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snails in my tank during cycling yaioa Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 01-09-2013 12:07 AM
Ok to take out seed gravel from tank during cycling process? shynepo3 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 06-23-2011 07:15 PM
new SW tank and lights during cycling clark4feathers Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 07-06-2010 11:34 AM
CLEANING the tank during cycling...CONFUSED???? Bubble_Boy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 11-19-2004 12:55 PM
Cleaning tank during cycling bhath19 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 09-15-2004 07:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×