Ph Increasing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mom2cct

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My last tested Ph was at 7.6 and it appears to be climbing since it was 7.4 the day before and 7.2 the day before that. At what point is it too high and what is the best way to help out with this (if necessary) without using a decreaser? PWC?

This is a new tank (20g) that hasn’t gone through its first cycle, with three fish in it (before I knew I should wait to cycle FIRST). All other levels are good.

Since I am having the opposite problem I have been doing considerable reading on this... what kind of substrate do you have? Some contain pacific coral (but mostly only sands not gravel) that can raise pH. Do you have any light coloured rocks, shells or corals- they can raise the pH.

As for lowering... I am still a newbie so I will let the experts that have been patiently guiding me through all of this jump in here.

hopefully our pH's will meet somewhere in the middle!

I'm using neutral (fairly light colored) gravel... mixed with a very small amount of green gravel. No corals, no shells...

Test your tap water after letting it sit out overnight. Let us know what the KH and PH are. Do you have any rock work in the tank?

I have a fake rock structure.

I don't think I have a test for KH... Is that the same as GH?

If you google the water quality for your municipality you may be able to find this out... I was able to find data on the pH and hardness, as well as other properties of my city's water this way. It may not be as accurate as a test but will hopefully lead you in the right direction.

personally, i'd just wait, keep testing the water, and see when it levels out and the increase stops. then i think you have a measure of ph as to which you can work with.