pH question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

malonbl

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am a newbie and have a question regarding the importance of pH. I have a 29 gallon, planted, low-light tank. Tank is recently cycled. My plants are java fern, java moss, and various anubias. Currently, I have 12 neons and 9 cory habrosus. I plan to add 2 more schools. I am consider chili rasboras versus ember tetras and I am consider green rasboras versus jelly bean tetras.

Now to my question. Just today, out of curiosity, I tested pH for the first time. I measured at 7.8. This was surprising as I assumed the "high pH bottle" was for outliers. I thought for sure that my water supply would fall more in standard ranges.

So, is this a problem? I know some species like African cichlids have pretty specific pH needs, but what about the tetras, corys and rasboras that I am wanting to keep?

Having a stable ph is much more important than trying to adjust/lower it. I have 2 large tanks that are nano fish only and one has a ph of 6.8 and the other 7.6 with a higher kh and gh due to some rocks in it. Both tanks of nano fish do equally well. Most all fish can adjust and acclimate to a high ph without any problems.

I am a newbie and have a question regarding the importance of pH. I have a 29 gallon, planted, low-light tank. Tank is recently cycled. My plants are java fern, java moss, and various anubias. Currently, I have 12 neons and 9 cory habrosus. I plan to add 2 more schools. I am consider chili rasboras versus ember tetras and I am consider green rasboras versus jelly bean tetras.

Now to my question. Just today, out of curiosity, I tested pH for the first time. I measured at 7.8. This was surprising as I assumed the "high pH bottle" was for outliers. I thought for sure that my water supply would fall more in standard ranges.