Pictus Accident?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ndwatkins

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I'm Nicole, and this is my first time posting! My husband and I have a 55-gallon freshwater tank that currently houses 3 gouramis and an African spotted leaf fish. We're about a month into starting this tank and it's been cycling for about two months total. We've had some bad luck with various problems (ich, a different possible parasite that we're currently treating) but yesterday, our pictus catfish who exhibited no other health problems and who was acting completely normal until this accident, was swimming very zoomily in laps around the fish tank as he always did. My husband was doing a partial water change and moved one of the rocks to steady the structure, and as the pictus was coming around for another lap, he crashed very hard into the rock because it was in a different place than usual. About two minutes later, he died :(

I was just wondering if this has happened to anyone else before? I thought it was a very strange occurrence. Like I said, he was acting totally healthy and normal until this happened, and I guess it's just an unfortunate accident, but it was really depressing. Just curious if anyone else has ever had this happen!

When I move my rock work around in my African tank it takes the fish a few days to get to know where their new territories are. Last time my XL venustus lost a few scales from misjudging where the rocks were.

These things happen, and no-one never likes it when thier fish get hurt. But unfortunately this is part of the hobby that we all have to work through.

Sorry to hear about your pictus. They are some of my favs out of the catfish. I've never lost a fish in that manner, that had to be horrible.

I have had a pictus stab me in the foot when he jumped out of the net.