Pictus Cat and schooling fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Karackle

Aquarium Advice Freak
My boyfriend is getting a 100g tank (i'll post more about that elsewhere when I have more time) but in the mean time i have a quick question.

He really likes the look of a large school of Neons or Cardinals etc. I was just wondering whether these are compatible with a Pictus cat or if there is a larger kind of brightly colored tetra (or other schooling fish) that would be compatible? I think Pictus cats are beautiful, but I don't have room for one at the moment but since he's getting a new 100g.....you see where I'm going here I imagine? ;):cool::silly::rolleyes:

This is going to be fun....he's a TOTAL noob so this is going to be "our" project...heeheehee....i have a new large tank to play with! :bowl:
icon_smile.gif
fish.gif

I agree with your boyfriend I also really like the look of the neons and cardianal teras. they look great with a black background and plants. I don't know what would happen if you put in a pictus cat. Red sarpea tetras are also very bright and school together well. I wish you lots of fun setting up you "boyfriends tank" HA Ha

hahaha thanks! Yeah, that's exactly what we want to do, black background, black gravel, and lots of greenery, it definitely makes the red and blue pop! I guess i'd be happy with a small school of one kind of cory or another instead of a pictus....schools of fish are fun! :)

But if anyone has any more input on how a pictus would do, i'd still love to hear it! thanks! :)

if im not mistaken i think pictus get to be about 5-6 inches and when large enough they may try to eat smaller tank inhabitants such as tetras....other than that their bottom feeder's who zoom back and forth using their whiskers to search for food