Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-28-2016, 12:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Plants I think have Cryptocoryne Disease Cryptocoryne Rot.

Okay so I was looking at my tank today and I see like every plant has holes in the leaves, and some look like somethings eating the edges (possibly the ramshorn snails im trying to get rid of that are almost gone), I did read on this and it says it could be caused by high nitrates which I do have and cannot get them lower, I'm totally lost cause they all sprouted new leaves and look like they are growing fine but even the new leaves have holes.

I'm not good at measuring light but I have a 48" led fixture with 8 DAYLIGHT whites, 2 color enhancing reds, and 4 lunar blues, my Nitrate is still over 60 no matter what I do big gravel vacs, filter cleaning, decor cleaning, more frequent water changes, lowering the food fed to 4 days a week 2 small times a day, NOTHING I do lowers my Nitrate and drum what I read this disease is caused by high nitrates.

So what can I do??
__________________

__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 01:51 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
Photos?

Tank size? (Gallons and height)

Inhabitants?

Also what is the wattage for your light
__________________

__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 02:35 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potluck View Post
Okay so I was looking at my tank today and I see like every plant has holes in the leaves, and some look like somethings eating the edges (possibly the ramshorn snails im trying to get rid of that are almost gone), I did read on this and it says it could be caused by high nitrates which I do have and cannot get them lower, I'm totally lost cause they all sprouted new leaves and look like they are growing fine but even the new leaves have holes.

I'm not good at measuring light but I have a 48" led fixture with 8 DAYLIGHT whites, 2 color enhancing reds, and 4 lunar blues, my Nitrate is still over 60 no matter what I do big gravel vacs, filter cleaning, decor cleaning, more frequent water changes, lowering the food fed to 4 days a week 2 small times a day, NOTHING I do lowers my Nitrate and drum what I read this disease is caused by high nitrates.

So what can I do??

First of all, what you have read is wrong. Secondly I doubt that nitrogen the second largest element that the plant is made up of after carbon is destroying your plants and thirdly, 60ppm nitrates is not high.

Plants need other nutrients like potassium and phosphate in large amounts and then they need the trace elements like iron and zinc etc.

Id suspect that you are not using any form of co2 additive? You can buy some Seachem flourish excel and add that at recommended doses to see if there is any quick improvement that would indicate a co2 deficiency.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 10:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullyboy View Post
Photos?

Tank size? (Gallons and height)

Inhabitants?

Also what is the wattage for your light
55 gallon tank
Mostly tetras of different species
1 Calico BN
2 clown loaches im getting ready to return to my lfs they took care of my snail infestation, I still have about a dozen in there though
My light fixture is led pods so I don't know the actual watt each pod is a 1 w draw, I can get you the lumen output though.
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 10:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
First of all, what you have read is wrong. Secondly I doubt that nitrogen the second largest element that the plant is made up of after carbon is destroying your plants and thirdly, 60ppm nitrates is not high.

Plants need other nutrients like potassium and phosphate in large amounts and then they need the trace elements like iron and zinc etc.

Id suspect that you are not using any form of co2 additive? You can buy some Seachem flourish excel and add that at recommended doses to see if there is any quick improvement that would indicate a co2 deficiency.
I know 60 ppm isn't high i don't worry about nitrates anymore but when I looked up holes in aquarium pants it did state that to high of Nitrate and the remedy was to lower them by doing more water changes and to cut down in my aeration and water flow
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 10:14 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
https://www.theaquariumwiki.com/Cryptocoryne_Rot
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 10:21 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Click image for larger version

Name:	20161028_091841.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	210.2 KB
ID:	290394Click image for larger version

Name:	20161028_091849.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	209.0 KB
ID:	290395Click image for larger version

Name:	20161028_091906.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	228.3 KB
ID:	290396Click image for larger version

Name:	20161028_091917.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	256.5 KB
ID:	290397
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 01:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bullyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 417
Some of my anubis have the same issues but it didnt kill them.
Idk about high nitrates either as mine never logged above the 3rd orange meter (api test)
__________________
bullyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 01:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potluck View Post
I know 60 ppm isn't high i don't worry about nitrates anymore but when I looked up holes in aquarium pants it did state that to high of Nitrate and the remedy was to lower them by doing more water changes and to cut down in my aeration and water flow

That Wikipedia reference was from a book first published in 1985. Knowledge moves on and you can't take everything you read on the internet at face value bud.

Everything in this hobby seems to blame high nitrates or phosphates. It's been a recurring theme for years. Funny how there are so many products out there that are made to reduce them and every manufacturer is on the gravy train.

You can't ignore Co2 bud.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 01:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
That Wikipedia reference was from a book first published in 1985. Knowledge moves on and you can't take everything you read on the internet at face value bud.

Everything in this hobby seems to blame high nitrates or phosphates. It's been a recurring theme for years. Funny how there are so many products out there that are made to reduce them and every manufacturer is on the gravy train.

You can't ignore Co2 bud.
So should I do the flourish or should I do the capsules with oscomote
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 01:55 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potluck View Post
So should I do the flourish or should I do the capsules with oscomote

It's called flourish excel. It must be excel.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 01:57 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Will it harm my fish, I know the swords are root feeders so that's why I thought the dyi root tabs would be better
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 02:02 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
I totally was dyslexic osmocote is the word lol
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 02:03 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potluck View Post
Will it harm my fish, I know the swords are root feeders so that's why I thought the dyi root tabs would be better

Again. Are they really root feeders? Excel won't harm fish at recommended levels. It is a source of liquid carbon that the osmocote does not contain.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 02:32 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Do I really need co2 with 5 plants im not doing a full planted tank, I mean it probably wouldn't hurt but when it comes to my tank im so worried about adding things
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 03:09 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,920
Plants I think have Cryptocoryne Disease Cryptocoryne Rot.

My Crypts took off once I added Root Tabs. I bury them as deep as I can.

Check your Crypt /Sword crowns if the crown is buried the Crypt can die. I see at least 1 I'd pull up a bit.

My current plant ferts are
DIY Osmocote Root Tabs
Thrive all in One liquid 3x weekly
Excel daily ...will be switching to Glut once it runs out.

Can you grow Crypts and lowlight plants without excel ? Yes. But since you are having issues you might try it.

Root Tabs are a must IME
For Swords and Crypts.

Excel ? Try it, you might like it. Unless you are growing Vals...then use 1/2 dose.
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 03:22 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
Again. Are they really root feeders? Excel won't harm fish at recommended levels. It is a source of liquid carbon that the osmocote does not contain.


??? My plant club says Swords are heavy Root feeders and once I added Root Caps my dwarf Chain Swords exploded.
I think I'll take Tom Barr's words as truth. He also recommends CO2. But I use it when I can. Still manage to grow easy plants. Med-high light stuff really needs it for sure.

My Chain Swords Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0052.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	266.8 KB
ID:	290403
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0151.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	258.6 KB
ID:	290404Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0160.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	256.8 KB
ID:	290405Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0236.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	262.9 KB
ID:	290406

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2007.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	269.0 KB
ID:	290407

These are straight sand tanks. I used Root Caps and Leaf Zone. Nothing else in the early days of these tanks. Excel was added ? If I remembered 1x a month ??

These are 10g tanks so easier to grow in.
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 03:39 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coursair View Post
My Crypts took off once I added Root Tabs. I bury them as deep as I can.

Check your Crypt /Sword crowns if the crown is buried the Crypt can die. I see at least 1 I'd pull up a bit.

My current plant ferts are
DIY Osmocote Root Tabs
Thrive all in One liquid 3x weekly
Excel daily ...will be switching to Glut once it runs out.

Can you grow Crypts and lowlight plants without excel ? Yes. But since you are having issues you might try it.

Root Tabs are a must IME
For Swords and Crypts.

Excel ? Try it, you might like it. Unless you are growing Vals...then use 1/2 dose.
Well the thing about the light is I don't know if it's low light as my fixture isn't measured in watts I don't believe, I have 8 whites that are for plants that are 10,000 Kelvin rating per pod, each pod puts out 1 watt, then I have blues that are not measured in Kelvin but are measured in nm actinic at 445 per, same with my reds so I don't know how to measure lighting output but I do know I have every "spectrum" so if we're going by watts I put out 14 cause each pod produces 1 watt, but led penetrate and are more intense than a fluorescent.. This is where I'm confused. So I got flourish root tabs but they didn't have excel so I didn't get any liquid any suggestions on that
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 03:39 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coursair View Post
My Crypts took off once I added Root Tabs. I bury them as deep as I can.

Check your Crypt /Sword crowns if the crown is buried the Crypt can die. I see at least 1 I'd pull up a bit.

My current plant ferts are
DIY Osmocote Root Tabs
Thrive all in One liquid 3x weekly
Excel daily ...will be switching to Glut once it runs out.

Can you grow Crypts and lowlight plants without excel ? Yes. But since you are having issues you might try it.

Root Tabs are a must IME
For Swords and Crypts.

Excel ? Try it, you might like it. Unless you are growing Vals...then use 1/2 dose.
What do you mean crown being pulled up some, im totally new to plants

I'm not trying to do a full planted tank I just have some Anubias and a couple swords on one side of the tank the other side im doing something totally different cause I'm slowly going to be changing my gravel over to finer stuff not sand though.


EDIT : okay the crown is right where the roots start and plant begins?
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 05:36 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Ordered flourish tabs, flourish liquid

The fish store wanted 15.00 for 10 tabs I got them on amazon for 7.00, the 500ml of liquid was 16.00
__________________

__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cory, disease, plant, plants, rot, sea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think we have a case of fin rot please help Kara22 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 19 04-13-2012 02:22 AM
I think my tetras have Fin Rot Todd2 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 10-03-2005 01:53 AM
I think my fish may have fin rot.. help!! Donatron Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 11 12-11-2004 01:25 AM
Cryptocoryne retrospiralis Fruitbat Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 01-15-2004 12:35 PM
Cryptocoryne Lutea leaves turning brown afFISHionado Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 08-23-2003 01:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×