Plants in sand substrate

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tianna8999

Aquarium Advice Regular
After a long 2-3 weeks of loosing all 5 guppies and 2 shrimp. Buying the angel fish sponge.. I believe I am cycled ... the past 3 days this have been my readings
ammonia 0-.25
Nitrite 0 - low .25 (maybe)
Nitrate 10-20 ppm !!!!
I would like to add some plants now I’m a student so I don’t have a bunch of money just laying around I have sand substrate already and I heard is posible to grow plants in sand but you need good lighting. My question is what’s a good CHEAP light for plant growth and how does high PH affect it.
I tried google and YouTube but is way to much info and everything contradicts each other thank you !

We need way more information.

Tank size and height?
Is low - medium light your goal?
What plants do you want to grow?
Are you planning on using root tabs and / or fertilizing the water column?
CO2 or no CO2?
Glutaraldehyde or Seachem Excel?

pH will effect nutrient availability. pH's above 7.0 will generally need an Iron Gluconate (Seachem Flourish brand) or a DTPA Iron source. Below 7.0 an EDTA Iron source is fine.

Lights can be cheap, but I need to know what size tank you are dealing with. Sand is 100% fine, and is my preferred substrate for my tanks.

Thank you for the reply!
I have a 55 gallon is a long tank
Medium light
I already planted api root tabs but I think they’re making my sand yellow and I don’t see growth
I’m using a $7 fertilizer from animart
No CO2
IMG_4335.jpg

This is a 20 long with cheap Vivagrow lights and roots tabs only. No Co2 or liquid ferts. The trick is finding the right plants/light/bioload combo. IMG_4330.jpg

Thanks! The Planted Plants are crypts and dwarf sag. Then mounted are Java fern, 2 different kinds. Then some moss and floating riccia. All fairly easy non demanding plants.