Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2007, 04:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 775
Send a message via ICQ to zenkatydid Send a message via AIM to zenkatydid Send a message via MSN to zenkatydid
Polystyrene backround

I would like to buy this polystyrene background for my 4ft tank: http://www.aquaria.com.au/catalog/pr...oducts_id/6991

The tank is set up and I am not going to empty it to put this thing in. So, how do I attach it? Surely because it's polystyrene it will float? I was thinking of putting a lip of some sort on the bottom to insert inderneath the gravel to hold it down, but that still sounds like a lot of work. Ideas?
__________________

__________________
50gal planted - yoyo loaches, BNs, odessa barbs, giant danios
33gal planted - praecox rainbows, gold ram, bolivian rams, sparkling gouramis, licorice gouramis, lots of shrimp
2 x 5gal planted - bettas
zenkatydid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 05:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: RI
Posts: 624
Tough to say without seeing it in person but I would think you could stick it in the substrate up against the back of the tank and if its cut to the correct size you could wedge it under the top rim of the tank.

Let us know how this goes I'm curious.

Oh .......good luck!
__________________

GlitcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 05:14 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 775
Send a message via ICQ to zenkatydid Send a message via AIM to zenkatydid Send a message via MSN to zenkatydid
hmm. possibly. i would hate to buy it and then have it not work. especially since i would have to remove all the plants at the back of the tank to insert it... i have a gift voucher at this place, i might as well give it a shot!

still interested in thoughts from anyone who has installed a polystyrene background after the tank is set up!
__________________
50gal planted - yoyo loaches, BNs, odessa barbs, giant danios
33gal planted - praecox rainbows, gold ram, bolivian rams, sparkling gouramis, licorice gouramis, lots of shrimp
2 x 5gal planted - bettas
zenkatydid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,472
I don't recommend them

they take up too much space in the tank
and
sometimes if there is a gap left between the back of the tank and the background - fish can swim behind the background and get stuck there (along with wastes and food)
__________________
Bubble_B0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is polystyrene aquarium safe? m_e23 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-30-2007 12:55 AM
Backround Frogspawn Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-23-2007 02:45 AM
Glass tank on polystyrene? zenkatydid Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 10-17-2006 04:20 AM
polystyrene sheet, is it poisonous to fish? thepirate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-18-2005 01:06 PM
backround Fishboy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 11-16-2004 11:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×