Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2011, 12:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
Power Outage

With this upcoming hurricane, many people are speaking of power outages that could last days. I cannot get a generator. Should i just buy a battery air pump? Will the bacteria in my canister stay alive? I really do not want to cycle my tank again.
__________________

__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 56
What about a UPS? I have one from Best buy, the geek squad brand powers my tv for like 1 hour
__________________

__________________
jad2411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
What type of canister do you have? I have a Fluval canister and one thing I'm planning on doing if the power goes out - is to just use that "Primer Pump" to essentially "manually pump the filter".

As long as you do that, the bacteria should stay alive.
__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
I have an ehiem canister. no such primer thing...
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
What do i do??.......
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
Hmmm, in that case - you have two options. Take the filter media out of the canister and:

1. If the material is in mesh bags, you could place them inside the aquarium.

2. If it is loose, you can put it into a bucket of tank water and stir it occasionally.


Another big point: If there is a risk that your water supply might stop or become dirtied - Do your tank water changes now so that the water is extra=clean before the storm.
__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
I do have a small UPS actually. Should I hook it up to my filter? Will the tank be ok without a filter for what could be days? There is a large possibility the tap water could be contaminated due to expected flooding.
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
The key is oxygen. A tank with enough oxygen can filter itself for a good amount of time without an actual filter. The problem is that both fish and bacteria die without O2. So as long as you have SOME way to "stir" the tank, and "stir" the filter media - your tank should be ok.
__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
ok so just put my media in a bucket and stir it? and stir my aquarium? how often. I am very worried.
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
Do you have live plants? The more live plants you have (if you can get good light on the aquarium) - the less you have to stir.

If you have a UPS - I'm not sure if if it would be better for you to run your filter or your lights with it. (it would probably last longer on the filter)
__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Vircomore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 534
Or even better - use the UPS on the filter, but just run it for 5 minutes every hour and make it last a lot longer.
__________________
"To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge." -Confucius

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Vircomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:46 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
i have some live plants... java fern, and anubias, just those, not alot. i would run the filter, to keep the fish alive, how long would it last? on the ups?
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:55 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 56
I would think that the filter would last a lot longer than the lights, can't be sure tho, never tried it.
The run time will depend on your UPS and how much stuff you plug into it
__________________
jad2411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
Instead of an standard UPS, I have a car battery and a 800 watt inverter. I trickle charge the car battery to keep it maintained. If there's an outage, I hook up the battery and inverter. It will last much longer than a UPS which typically has just one or two small 8 amp hour batteries. It won't last several days though. That will take a generator, and the generator will require running once a month or so. You'd need something like Stabil to keep the gas from going bad, and some type of syphon to get fuel from a car if you don't want to have gasoline stored at your home.

If you had the space and money, an array of batteries charged via solar panels could make an alternative backup power source.
__________________
rcgldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:31 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
I have a battery operated Coleman air pump meant for blowing up air mattresses.
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:35 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
A lot of threads about this recently ...here's what I use, it works great. We had an outage for about 10 hours yesterday and I got to try it out.
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Frabill-Po...rator/16494427
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:40 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
The closest wall mart that carries that by me is an hour away, i cant get that. and all the stores are swamped right now, 30 minute waits just to get in the parking lots.
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:47 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MD
Posts: 392
Hey everyone.
Im In MD, about 150 miles from Ocean City, so we expect to get pounded.
Now that I know what to do as far as having no filter if the power does indeed go out, what about the heaters????? Whats a good way to keep the tanks warm enough? I have two tanks, a 29 gallon and a 36gl.
__________________
Because nice matters
Copachick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:50 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 216
I think its warm enough outside to keep the temp up. I wasn't going to worry about that. But should i just stir my tank every so often if the power fails?
__________________
skenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:50 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copachick
Hey everyone.
Im In MD, about 150 miles from Ocean City, so we expect to get pounded.
Now that I know what to do as far as having no filter if the power does indeed go out, what about the heaters????? Whats a good way to keep the tanks warm enough? I have two tanks, a 29 gallon and a 36gl.
Here in VA it's going to be in the low 80's. Assuming you don't have AC running through a generator...the house is gonna be hot and I wouldn't worry about it. You can always wrap it in blankets if it cools down for some reason.
__________________

__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power outage

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power outage prep Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 08-26-2011 02:02 AM
Power outage! Vlrm23 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-26-2011 03:44 AM
power outage possibility Reygan2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 07-24-2011 05:06 PM
Power outage spoonman Aquaria Off-Topic 8 07-05-2011 12:37 PM
power outage hackteck Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 06-25-2011 01:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×