Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-10-2005, 10:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 224
Powerhead for loaches

I'm starting to see some nitrates in my 75 gallon tank, so I am hopeful that my fishless cycle is near complete! As such, I was looking to start setting decorations and other equipment. I was interested in keeping a group of one of the smaller loaches and as I understand they like to have something of a current in the tank. How big of a powerhead should I get to provide that? Do I need more than one? Should it be placed toward the bottom of the tank?
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
cplawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 10:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 75
What type of filtration do you have? If this is a decision also regarding filtration atleast 150gal per hour. I have 5 clownies (great fish) And they are perfectly happy under these conditions.
__________________

__________________
Husmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 11:29 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 224
Fluval 404.
__________________
cplawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 11:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 75
If it does your tank atleast twice an hour, I reckon it will be ok. There would have to be parts of the tank that have a current strong enough for them to get their fix, even if its only around the in and outlets. IMO
__________________
Husmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 01:29 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
An aquascaping and theme idea I want to implement one day: how about creating a fast flowing river in part of your tank using Martin Thoene's ideas and a couple powerheads, using some decor or plants to break up the current before and after that area, then having the rest of the tank as a standard aquarium, recreating a decent but slower flow as would be expected in parts of a creek or river? I only have a small river tank and kuhliis and a hillstream, but can say my loaches love the current.
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your handsÖ" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loach, loaches, powerhead

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To powerhead or not to powerhead...that is the question. STARFYRE Nano Reefs 14 01-01-2007 04:43 PM
Dojo Loaches?? (aka weather loaches) hsherman1986 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-24-2006 12:57 AM
just read on loaches.com - khuli loaches prefer Cooler temps Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-16-2005 07:18 PM
mediterranean clown loaches- normal clown loaches HELP PLZ qwertie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 06-05-2005 08:53 AM
is my powerhead too much? pennybabe01 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-13-2004 07:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×