Predator Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xTylerLairx

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am just about to finish my 125 community tank. Angels/Raphaels/pleco/pecalita/BGR/dwarf-powder gourami's/ hujeta gars.

And as you all know, there is no way I can have just ONE tank, and being the super tough macho man type, I am looking into a predator tank. Being that I am a college student, I am looking into something cheap(er)

From what I have heard Red Wolf Fish and Birchirs are a good combo and can be kept in relativly small and simple tanks, and feed off of night crawlers and such. I am also willingt o get ahold of a 10 gallon feeder tank, I know of plenty of those I can have a feeder tank set up quickly.

That being said, I am wondering what kind of fish I would be able to easily maintain that are predators. I don't really have much space, so I am not looking for a large or expensive set up. If anyone has any advice as to other predators that are inexpensive and dont need a large tank, thanks in advance

cant go wrong with a single guapote. id suggst a jaguar or dovii, but RTM and freddies are nice too.

I am looking for something bright and flashy too. Cichlids are great, but I never really got into them. I am not sure why.

What size tank are you planning on putting these fish in? Am i misunderstanding? I was under the impression that you were just wanting to set up a 10g...

No, I want a larger tank than 10g. but not too big, I want it to be a centerpiece for my bedroom perhaps. I suggested a 10g for a feeder breeder, so my predator can have it's corresponding prey. I am obsessed with bowfronts, I am thinking about getting a smaller one, maybe 16 gallon?

I was thinking between 30 and 40 gallons for a tank, again...the 10 is for some feeder guppies or the like.

any input now?