Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2015, 01:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AdamsAquarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 273
Prime gives false readings!???

I was wondering if you have heard about that.

A buddy of mine is confident that prime gives false readings on tester strips.

What do you know about that?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
AdamsAquarium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 01:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Prime is just a water conditioner. No idea how it would throw off a water test. Test strips are know. To be inaccurate anyway. I would switch to a liquid test kit. API master test kit is cheap and much more accurate.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________

__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 01:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,909
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
Yeah test strips give false readings, prime or not.
__________________
No tanks but my MTS is relapsing rapidly...
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 01:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AdamsAquarium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 273
Let it be known, I have a liquid test kit. However, I work at a fish store that does water testing with test strips. So I wanted to be able to inform my customers if prime gives false readings or if it is just the test strips

Sent from my SM-N900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
AdamsAquarium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 03:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
What does it give a false reading on?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 04:33 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 4,219
This should help you http://www.seachem.com/support/forum...ead.php?t=7248

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Gillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 05:43 PM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 788
The only thing false prime does IMO is detoxify Nitrite and Nitrates.. It originally was made for Ammonia and Chlorine only but based off some people's claims it helped with nitrites and nitrates they started to label it to help with that too. They have even admitted to not doing research on proving it helps with nitrites.. Me personally I haven't seen prime help with nitrites.. Just ammonia and Clorine and stuff..


A lot of stuff seacheam lables on their products is really stretched as far as truth goes.. Its a good company but I wouldn't trust them with my life
__________________
candymancan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 07:37 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 1,273
Overpriced water conditioner.
__________________
gilpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 07:43 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilpi View Post
Overpriced water conditioner.

I'm willing to pay a few extra dollars and have the peace of mind it's going to do its job rather than some off brand.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 10:50 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilpi View Post
Overpriced water conditioner.
And yet its still cheaper than almost all the ofber common water conditioners.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 11:23 AM   #11
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamsAquarium View Post
Let it be known, I have a liquid test kit. However, I work at a fish store that does water testing with test strips. So I wanted to be able to inform my customers if prime gives false readings or if it is just the test strips

Sent from my SM-N900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Either way imo any reading of ammonia should be cause for more research. I could maybe understand ammonia after a large pwc but otherwise that is it.

The test strips I have don't cover ammonia, only nitrites and nitrates. For these two I find the strips will under-read compared to a liquid based test kit.

So if I do use strips, any hint of an issue or unexpected readings would mean I dig out the liquid based tests.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 01:03 PM   #12
member

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 3,907
I swear by prime. Most breeders i know swear by prime. I have seen prime save fish. Prime is prime stuff, lol. Our greater area club would buy stock in prime. I would too. False readings may happen on test strips, because its the cheapest easiest way to test. We all know, in this hobby, cheap n easy is rarely good. Liquid test kits are the way to go.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
PoppaRyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 06:01 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: West Yorkshire, England
Posts: 1,295
The balance of opinion on this forum is that Prime is the best water conditioner. It gives some protection in the short term against moderate ammonia levels and may give protection against moderate nitrite and nitrate levels. It's concentrated formula makes it a fairly cheap product as a bottle lasts ages.
API, or at least a liquid test kit is far more reliable than test strips.
So many experienced fish keepers can't be wrong!


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
ScotJudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2015, 06:20 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScotJudd View Post
The balance of opinion on this forum is that Prime is the best water conditioner. It gives some protection in the short term against moderate ammonia levels and may give protection against moderate nitrite and nitrate levels. It's concentrated formula makes it a fairly cheap product as a bottle lasts ages.
API, or at least a liquid test kit is far more reliable than test strips.
So many experienced fish keepers can't be wrong!


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

We definitely can be wrong sometimes. But general things like this are so simple it's common knowledge now.


Caleb

Sent via TARDIS
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 03:16 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
threnjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamsAquarium View Post
Let it be known, I have a liquid test kit. However, I work at a fish store that does water testing with test strips. So I wanted to be able to inform my customers if prime gives false readings or if it is just the test strips

Sent from my SM-N900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Did the info in the Seachem link make sense?

So in the aquarium, ammonia exists in two forms - Free Ammonia NH3 which is toxic to your fish, and Ammonium NH4 which is not toxic. The ratio of free ammonia to ammonium is directly dependent on the pH of the water.

A test kit like strips or the API kit will measure the TOTAL amount of ammonia in the water, both NH3 and NH4. So those tests don't distinguish between the toxic and non-toxic ammonia forms.

Prime chemically bonds the free ammonia into ammonium somehow. It would not change the result that you receive on any test that checks for TOTAL ammonia both NH3 + NH4 which is what the common tests look at.

Make sense?

TL&DR: No, it will not cause a false positive. Any ammonia in the water will register on the test both before and after using Prime.

P.S. Prime is awesome
__________________
threnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 03:20 AM   #16
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
I always thought it meant a false positive in that it still reads TAN although the NH3 component is temporarily 'bound'.

I use sodium thiosulfate crystals to dechlor, I don't have ammonia problems.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 04:54 AM   #17
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by threnjen View Post
Did the info in the Seachem link make sense?

So in the aquarium, ammonia exists in two forms - Free Ammonia NH3 which is toxic to your fish, and Ammonium NH4 which is not toxic. The ratio of free ammonia to ammonium is directly dependent on the pH of the water.

A test kit like strips or the API kit will measure the TOTAL amount of ammonia in the water, both NH3 and NH4. So those tests don't distinguish between the toxic and non-toxic ammonia forms.

Prime chemically bonds the free ammonia into ammonium somehow. It would not change the result that you receive on any test that checks for TOTAL ammonia both NH3 + NH4 which is what the common tests look at.

Make sense?

TL&DR: No, it will not cause a false positive. Any ammonia in the water will register on the test both before and after using Prime.

P.S. Prime is awesome

More importantly, welcome back! I'm sure I missed posts but hadn't seen you in a bit. .
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 04:58 AM   #18
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey View Post
I always thought it meant a false positive in that it still reads TAN although the NH3 component is temporarily 'bound'.

I use sodium thiosulfate crystals to dechlor, I don't have ammonia problems.

My trouble with all this false positive business is that it is still an ammonia reading and thus I would still find it disconcerting. It's just one form is safer. In mine as well, I just don't get any ammonia spikes. Sometimes I'll get a minor bacterial bloom and that for me is a warning the tank is going a bit unstable. Still a working theory though.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:34 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
threnjen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delapool View Post
More importantly, welcome back! I'm sure I missed posts but hadn't seen you in a bit. .
Hey You didn't miss anything actually, I just kind of popped up out of nowhere lol

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
90g FW Community, heavily planted, w/29g sump filter * 10g FW plants/quarantine/whatever * 5.5g FW Nano dirted/planted * 20g long FW community * 3.7g FW Pico
threnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
prime, rim

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
False nitrate readings from API? Lady Cougrrr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-21-2009 02:46 AM
Seachem Prime & False Nitrite readings? David14259 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 02-05-2007 08:25 AM
False high nitrate readings. Caincando1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 07-10-2006 03:52 PM
Cycling Problems - False Readings? Sara Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 08-12-2004 01:29 AM
False readings with Prime Molly525 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 11-02-2003 05:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×