Proper Housing/care for Bettas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ConanTheLibraia

Aquarium Advice FINatic
What is an ideal size home for a betta? I see bettas in extremly small spaces in petstores or petsmart, which i know they dont need a large area but they hardly have enough room to turn around. Would a normal fishbowl be alright? Also, how do you clean a bettas bowl if it is to small for siphon or anything of the sort, and just a small problem or change can screw up the balance? I assume there are certian nitrite, pH, ammonia, levels acceptable for bettas since these apply to all types of fish. I am very new to bettas and am looking for good information.

hmm my gf has a single one in a 1 gallon tank. I think thats alright for a single fish that is as hardy as a betta. All we did was take cycled water from my 35 gallon and then put the fish in a few days later. And its been pretty healthy since. Shes no pro so she doesnt do any waterchanges. But as long as u feed litle and do liek 15% changes weekly they are good. Id say shoot for a decent sized tank, the bigger the better, 1-3 gallons. If u go bigger u could through in a friend too

Bettas don't need much room and oxygen content isn't really an issue with them. Many breeders keep their bettas in quart mason jars. You do need to do water changes to keep water quality up. Bettas adapt well to most any water so trying to hit a certain pH isn't really necessary with them...just use tap water with some dechlorinator. You also don't want current in the tank...no airstones...still water is best. Any container that holds 1/2 gal or more is plenty for one betta. Make sure the fish can get to air though as they will actually drown if they can't sip air from the surface.
Logan J