Quarantine tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

deven

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All,

This is my first time posting here. First of all, a HUGE thanks to all. I'm very new to this hobby and the advice on here is invaluable.

My question is about quarantine tanks. I have a 20 gallon freshwater which I am currently fishless cycling. After the cycle is done and the first round of fish go in it, I'd like to quarantine the next batch for 2 weeks to ensure they are healthy. I have a small 5.5 gallon setup that I can use for this purpose, and for quarantining sick fish in.

My question is: how do you keep the QT tank cycled when there is no fish in it? I expect it will be empty most of the time. I have a basic HOB filter for it. Does it make sense to keep it permanently on the 20 gallon along with the 20 gallon's filter and transfer it to the 5.5 gallon tank as required or is there another way?

How do other members manage quarantining fish if the QT is not normally cycled?

Thanks!!

When I QT fish which I should practice more. If I plan on going to get fish or order online I start my tank up well before hand with the filter, heater and small air stone. Then I remove some media from one of my HOB's on my 75g and add it to my QT tank. Sounds like a process but I believe there should be some pre planning. I messed up once and now I have a tank with ich.

I'll be sure NOT to make that mistake again.

Well... There's my 2 cents.

So if I understand right, you basically do a fish-in cycle with the new fish. Is that right?

So if I understand right, you basically do a fish-in cycle with the new fish. Is that right?

Not really. I pre plan. So that's say I wanna add fish and I now this say today. I'll start up my tank today. I'll either go to the local fish store and pick what I want and they hold them for me for a pretty long time.