Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2011, 05:30 PM   #1
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Quick question about Aqueon water changer

Just had a quick question for anyone using an aqueon brand water changer. Can you attach a regular water hose directly up to the flow valve, rather than their hose? I think it can be done, I just wanted to know if anyone was sure before I get one.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MrPillow's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corpus Christ, TX
Posts: 396
The barbed hose attachment unscrews and reveals a set of threads I believe are standard hose size, but I have not personally tried it. I will go here in just a minute and see if it fits.
__________________

__________________
MrPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MrPillow's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Corpus Christ, TX
Posts: 396
The threads on mine are just barely too small for a regular hose to fit. I am not sure if another type could be used, but the garden hose variety attachment does not work
__________________
MrPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:43 PM   #4
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Interesting. Thanks for checking, I was going to get one but I probably won't if I can't hook up a regular hose to it.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
I have the Lee's brand from walmart... I hook the pressure fitting barb thing up to a water hose every time I do a water change... since I don't use the faucet adapter thing, and the gravel vac tube makes the water much less forceful coming in to the tank. I just have a water hose valve ($2 at walmart) hooked to the water hose, then the barb thing, then a short piece of 1/2" tubing and a gravel vac tube. Not sure if that's kind of the configuration you were looking in to or not.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:59 PM   #6
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Well what happened was my python piece that attaches to the faucet broke, so I am looking to replace it but I don't want to buy an entire unit with the hose and everything. I do need it to venturi drain, though.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 09:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Oh, I see. This will hook up to a regular garden hose thread - Aquarium Gravel Vacuum; Eheim Sludge Remover; Lees Siphon Cleaning, Python pump. (scroll down to 'Ultimate Gravel Vacuum Pump Kit and Faucet Adapter- $8.99')

It's what I had before it started leaking and I decided I didn't need one enough to replace it.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:32 PM   #8
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Looks identical to the python one, sweet. Just have to find one locally if possible
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Racine,Wi
Posts: 109
Hope this helps Python Products Aquarium Supplies and Pond supplies
__________________
TT71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 06:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Cornstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York City, USA
Posts: 914
Send a message via AIM to Cornstar Send a message via Skype™ to Cornstar
I have a 25ft aqueon water changer I was going to return to amazon. I tried to use it once but my faucet were personally customized for my parents.

I could sell it to you if you like.
__________________
"Life is not about how hard you can hit, but how hard you can get hit and keep going"
Cornstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 06:06 PM   #11
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
It's okay, ended up getting a handful of Lee's brand which are a direct replacement for the python. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After cycle is done water change question Gunk Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 10-09-2011 10:04 AM
RO/Di Water Question gerridee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-22-2011 08:41 AM
PWC and Prime Mumma.of.two Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 75 08-12-2011 01:50 AM
RO water question sundance2011 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 06-28-2011 10:10 AM
Question about water changes Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-26-2011 10:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×