Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-14-2012, 12:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Rainwater?

So it is pouring here right now and I collect rainwater for my house plants and I'm staring at this bucket filling with clean non-chlorinated water and...

You see where I'm going here, right?

Can anyone think of a reason to not use it in fish tanks? I have a feeling that the only things that might be in there that aren't good for fish wouldn't be readable by my API test kit. Whatcha think?

Old 03-14-2012, 12:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

My gut reaction is that there would be an air pollution factor to worry about. I have no scientific knowledge to back this up, but it's just a gut thing. I wouldn't do it.

75: blood parrots, featherfin cat, emperor tetras, turquoise rainbowfish, BN plecos, japanese trapdoor; 46: WCMM, gold inca snails, ghost, bamboo & amano shrimp, kuhli loaches, rummynose & ember tetras, endlers, platies, flame gourami, guppies; 16: pygmy, peppered, loxozonus corys, otos, assassins, RCS ... ~ Research PRIOR to purchase.... ~
LyndaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Rainwater, especially from a suburban area, may contain fertilizers and pesticides. If you put that in a fish tank, it is going to kill your fish. Any number of poisons are deadly to both you and your fish. Don't do it.

Who say's that you can't have more than one tank? Just get one more... just one...
phoenixkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

So I'm gonna do it! Just kidding. Maybe I'll use it for my java moss growing factory. If it kills the pond snail I'll know!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3325498758.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	141.1 KB