Salt for guppies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Guppyman34

Aquarium Advice Freak
Okay, well i was at my lfs today, and 1 girl told me to add aquarium salt for my guppies specifically, as she said they are brackish fish, but said it would be fine for platys, corys, neons, and my new Bolivian. Not wanting to cause a feud or make her feel bad we bought the aquarium salt (it was only 4$), but I'm not using it if it's gonna harm my fish, and I've never used it before, so I thought I'd run it past all you guys here:) has anyone heard of this?

This can be a very touchy subject in general, but my personal opinion is that aquarium salt is a complete waste of money. Guppies are not brackish and aquarium salt doesn't replicate brackish conditions. I'm afraid that they may very well be clueless. ;)

Guppyman34 said:
Okay, well i was at my lfs today, and 1 girl told me to add aquarium salt for my guppies specifically, as she said they are brackish fish, but said it would be fine for platys, corys, neons, and my new Bolivian. Not wanting to cause a feud or make her feel bad we bought the aquarium salt (it was only 4$), but I'm not using it if it's gonna harm my fish, and I've never used it before, so I thought I'd run it past all you guys here:) has anyone heard of this?
Guppies are not brackish. Im not sure why she thinks that. Lol.

Mollies are
Maybe she was mixed up
AQ salt is a waste of money
JMHO

Ok thanks, I didn't think they were brackish, but it can help if any of my tropicals get ich or other diseases right? She actually said it was good to add regularly for all fish, which really confused me....

Myth, legend, and profits.... for the most part.

Guppyman34 said: