Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-15-2011, 01:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Craig blomfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: kent
Posts: 16
Sand substrate

Hi everyone, just would like to ask if anyone could just run me through starting a tank with a sand substrate. Think is ive put the sand in and filled the tank ready for cycling without rinsing the sand is this a big problem?
__________________

__________________
Craig blomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Shane l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: south africa,gauteng,johannesburg
Posts: 673
Not really it will just look bad but water changes wil remove them and the particles will damage your impeller I would start again and put your old substrate in a stocking and but it in the tank this will contain your old good bacteria
__________________

__________________
Shane l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 01:56 PM   #3
PHP
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 144
Rinsing the sand it just to keep it from clouding when adding water, but once the dust particles settle down, it should be clear.

There really isn't much maintenance to keeping sand as your substrate. If this is not a planted tank, then you will have to do a vacuum as a part of your maintenance every so often (But you can't put it in the sand, you can just stuck up what's on top of the sand. By doing so you will need to keep the vacuum around 1 - 2" above the sand so that you won't suck up a lot in the process. Oh yeah, and if you start to get low on the sand - as like being less that an 1 - 2" depth - make sure to keep an extra bag around to refill when needed). If it's a planted tank, then you don't have to usually vacuum it IME.

Also, in most cases, sand will build up nitrogen bubbles under the sand in little pockets and that is very toxic to fish. To prevent them, stir the sand around a bit to pop all of them every water change or add some MTS to do it for you (Malaysian Trumpet Snail - they dig deep in the sand unlike other snails).
__________________
PHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 02:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Craig blomfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: kent
Posts: 16
Hi, thanks for that, I thought for a second I had made a really big boo boo.

So do you think water changes will get rid of the cloudiness, ive also read somewhere that it will settle but if its desturbed again the water will go cloudy for a few days every time, is this true? Thanks
__________________
Craig blomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:31 PM   #5
PHP
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 144
It's possibly true, since you didn't rinse it. If you want, you could do a water change to help the cloudiness, but once you stir up the sand again (That is if you have to), then it'll be cloudy once again like the first time.
__________________
PHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 356
I can tell you now the amount of crap that came out of my sand when rinsing would have taken ages to clear from my tank. I would have taken it all out and rinsed it before putting it back in.
__________________
cheeky_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:21 PM   #7
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
I agree with Monkey, i would take it out & rinse it all & then refill your tank. I did pool filter sand in my latest tank & even added some to my 1 gravel tank today but i rinsed in a pillow case for almost 20mins to get it clear & clean. No cloudiness in either tank!
__________________

__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, sand substrate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.