Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2003, 06:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
Seachem Prime

Is seachem prime in any way. shape or form toxic to fish in double doses?
__________________

__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 07:14 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Is this the stuff that is supposed to contain bactera to help jumpstart your bio bed?
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 09:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
Yeah it is but I was just curious of whether too much was bad for the fish.
__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 09:57 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Seachem's Prime is not a bio-starter. It is a water conditioner for eliminating chlorine, chloramines and will also aid in binding toxic metals.

It can be used up to 5 times normal strength in cases of emergencies. The hydrosulphites will not harm the fish.

You can read it from their website. I use the product all the time without negative effects.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 03:03 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
I usually do a little bit of an overdose when I do my water changes. Like Steve said, you can use up to 5 times the normal dose in an emergency. I have actually had to do it and have never had any problems. Also, it DOES NOT contain bacteria. This is mainly just a water conditioner.
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 03:17 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
this really bites, up in canada we have NOTHING to eliminate ammonia. Bio spira isn't available because the US government won't let it be transported in large quantities across the border. They won't allow any bottled bacteria apparently. I'm sorry, your government is way out of line these days... first iraq, now beneficial bacteria for aquariums isn't allowed across the border.
__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 03:32 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
Quote:
I'm sorry, your government is way out of line these days
Even though I am disgusted by your comment, I'll respond...
Prime doesn't eliminate ammonia. Neither does BioSpira. As far as I know, there is NOTHING that "eliminates" ammonia. It just converts it to a nontoxic form. Two rather popular ones are AmmoLock2 and AmQuel. You still have to cycle your tank with these products. They aren't bottled magic.

Keep your unnecessary comments about our government to yourself. This is a forum for aquariums. Besides, there was nothing wrong with the US led invasion of Iraq. What?, the UN's disapproval of it? Oh yeah, what about the misdirected food for oil money that Kofi Annan and others had been been hiding? And Saddam is such a nice guy anyway. Kinda sad to see him out of power...GET REAL.
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 11:24 AM   #8
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdawson
this really bites, up in canada we have NOTHING to eliminate ammonia. Bio spira isn't available
There is nothing to date that I am aware of that does eliminate ammonia as wabyrd has said, only products that can bind it and render it less harmful.

Many of the products available in North America are readily available to you, in your own back yard.

Amquel, Cycle and Prime as well as many others.

I also do not think that it is respectful to the original poster to have his/her thread hijacked for a political discussion. 8O

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 01:11 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
I couldn't find amquel anywhere, that would have been my first choice before getting prime.
__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 08:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 641
Send a message via Yahoo to Pufferpunk
Go to . www.bigalsonline.com They ship to Canada & have Amquel. I like to use the Ammo Chips too.
__________________
The Puffer Forum
http://www.thepufferforum.org/

Pufferpunk's Tanks
http://wetwebfotos.com/Home?actionRe...ew&userID=1918
Pufferpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 09:22 PM   #11
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdawson
I couldn't find amquel anywhere, that would have been my first choice before getting prime.
I gave you the link in the previous post. Plus J&L has free local delivery on orders over $20.00

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 10:22 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
Quote:
I like to use the Ammo Chips too.
Sorry, I was so mad about the comment in the earlier post I forgot about the ammo chips. I've used those too. I've had the best luck with the product Ammo-Carb. It's by Aquarium Pharmaceuticals. It's a mix of AC and "ammonia-removing media." It's some sort of ammonia removing resin. It comes in a red milk carton container. I guess it's dependent on your filter and the water flow, but it will seriously suck the ammonia out of your tank. Very quickly!
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 10:41 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve-s
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdawson
I couldn't find amquel anywhere, that would have been my first choice before getting prime.
I gave you the link in the previous post. Plus J&L has free local delivery on orders over $20.00

Cheers
Steve
I can't order online, I don't have a credit card.
__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 10:45 PM   #14
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You can call them directly (604) 937-1146, they may be willing to allow a cash payment. Not sure though, I've never tried.

They also have a store front that you can purchase from in Coquitlam. It's at Austin & Bluemountain. They have a great selection of corals and clams. I recommend the trip out there.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 02:07 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
Do they have any FW or brackish fish? I always wanted to go there but never had time. I thought it was just for saltwater, that's impression I got from the add in the yellow pages.
__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 02:20 AM   #16
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sorry, I didn't even realize the topic "header" when I read the thread lead in.

They are strictly SW, but there are many crossover products in the dry good section and all very reasonabley priced compared to an LFS.

What part of Vancouver are you from? I could point you to a decent store.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 01:05 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
I live in burnaby right near king ed pets, I'll tell you what places I go to so I can narrow it down for you. I frequent king ed pets, big al's (north road), Aqauriums West, Super pet which is awesome for rare stuff (in richmond near the big al's on No. 3 road), perky's pets....that's about it. If you know of any other good stores, please let me know! =)
__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 10:48 PM   #18
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdawson
I frequent king ed pets, big al's (north road), Aqauriums West
I am actually suprised that King Ed's doesn't have it. Gonna have to bug them the next time I'm there.

I did however get the chance to call Aquariums West. They said they would be happy to bring Amquel in if requested. Just ask for Mike or Kreige. They are the "go to" guys in the store.... 8)

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 02:31 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 431
Send a message via ICQ to cdawson
Yeah I've actually got two silvers scats and one mono argentus on order there. They're good for plant info and tropica plants. Big Al's sells tropica but they aren't worth the price there. At Aquariums west they're always completely healthy.
__________________

__________________
"Hey dad! your bettas looked lonely so I put them in a tank together!"
cdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
prime, rim, seachem

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seachem Prime tauquenmay Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 12-17-2008 05:53 PM
Seachem Prime or Kordon Amquel Plus darburks General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 05-10-2006 05:30 PM
Another Seachem Prime question degbowl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-02-2006 01:41 PM
Seachem Prime MarkW19 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-24-2006 07:33 PM
Seachem Prime question kurt Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 09-16-2003 08:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×