Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-23-2011, 03:44 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
seeding a filter

If I take an unseeded filter and stick it in an established tank. And then let it run for two weeks. Will that seed it really good?? And then I can transport the whole thing back to the un cycled tank to dramatically increase cycling time? ??
__________________

__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 03:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tx
Posts: 1,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
If I take an unseeded filter and stick it in an established tank. And then let it run for two weeks. Will that seed it really good?? And then I can transport the whole thing back to the un cycled tank to dramatically increase cycling time? ??
It will definitely help it !
__________________

__________________
So God created great sea creatures and every living thing that scurries and swarms in the water
Flossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 09:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,456
Seeding a Filter

Good morning tarp...

It's been some time since I've cycled a tank, but it should still take a minimum of 30 days to complete. Using media from an established tank will ensure there's enough bacteria to consume the the waste produced by the fish. But, I don't believe you can nor do you want to hurry the process. I'm "old school", so there may be a way to do the cycle thing faster.

I've always set the tank up with the substrate, gear and plants and let it all run for a month and then added some small fish. But, I always gave the tank the full month to cycle.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
I knoww but I was just wondering if that would seed the filter? To just let it run In the established tank?
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:52 AM   #5
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
Yep, should help nicely. But don't just assume it's fully cycled. You'll still want to do a fishless cycle with something like pure ammonia to test it. The seeded filter should reduce the overall cycling time but it's best to check before adding fish.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 11:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
That's pretty much the only way I do things. I've only cycled one tank. The rest have been seeded from others. Before running most of my tanks on sponges, I would run multiple filters on each tank. If I set up a new one, I'd just move the filter over and add fish. You still wanna test and all, but as long as you don't stock too much (no more than what was in the tank you seeded the filter with), you'll be fine IME
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 11:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Okay cool. Thanks
__________________

__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, seed, seeding

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gravel Vaccum + Pump + Filter = Reuseable water? Keybler General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-18-2011 01:15 PM
Converting to External Filter advice samt1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-13-2011 11:35 AM
How long to seed new media? mikeybabs Cichlid Discussion 5 07-10-2011 10:12 PM
900l tank my filter broke what should i do? mundy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-06-2011 01:26 PM
Ati hydro sponge filter Ant329 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-05-2011 11:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.