Should i...??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XxNoobxX

Aquarium Advice Freak
Should I get otos, plecos...?? I want an algae eater... Any suggestions?? I'm thinking on getting otos but not sure yet... I have no experiences with these.. So if you wanna help me you are welcome to do it.. :) thanks..

Depends what size tank you have. Most plecos get big so unless you have a bigger tank I would go with ottos. Just be careful acclimating them. They are very sensitive to acclimation so do a slow drip method.

Thanks.. I got a 29gallon tank...how many of those can I have in there..!? Keeping in mind I will have a pair of dwarf gourami too...

You could get 5-8 ottos, or 1 bushy nose Pleco, or 1 rubber lip Pleco, or a few snails. Those types of Plecos stay small. Just so you know...you don't need algae eaters. If you do get them you have to make sure you feed them algae wafers, and some vegetables like cucumbers about once every two weeks. 99% of the time the algae in the tank isn't sufficient enough for them to thrive. Algae will not be a problem if you keep up on your water changes, and only leave the light on 4-8 hours a day.

You could get 5-8 ottos, or 1 bushy nose Pleco, or 1 rubber lip Pleco, or a few snails. Those types of Plecos stay small. Just so you know...you don't need algae eaters. If you do get them you have to make sure you feed them algae wafers, and some vegetables like cucumbers about once every two weeks. 99% of the time the algae in the tank isn't sufficient enough for them to thrive. Algae will not be a problem if you keep up on your water changes, and only leave the light on 4-8 hours a day.

Wow thanks you answered all my questions.!! :)