SHould i do a water change?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GIES2525

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have had my tank up and running(counting the fishless cycle period) for about five weeks, do i need to do a water change? My water looks great, my fish look happy, and i dont want to mess that up. If so, would you think a 20% water change would be enough? And what else do i need to do to the water (conditioner and stuff) to get it back to safe for the fish if i did do a water change? Im new to Aquariums, and any info. would be helpful...

Do you have a test kit that you can use to put some numbers up ? The tests will tell you everything you need once you learn how to read them. if your unsure how to read them put the numbers up here and the guys and gals will help you along.

Most poeple will recommend the API master test kit if you don't already have one. Should be able to find in a local fish store as it is popular. put up your numbers on Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate.

If you lack a test kit right now do a water change anyways..... It never really hurts.

PWCs are never a bad thing. You'll need a dechlorinator such as Prime or NovAqua+ to remove chlorine/chloramine from the water before you add it, and it needs to be close to the same temperature as what's in the tank.

20% sounds fine. Most of us do weekly PWCs of about that.

What are PWC's, im new so lingo is foreign to me. SO i add the water dechlorinater in the bucket before i dump the water into the tank? Or can i dump the tap water in the tank and then add the dechlorinator? And is dechlorinator the only thing i need to add?